Carol Priest: Cleansing Milk & Damask Rose Toner Review

Hello awesomepeoples!! 

I haven’t been updating as much as I want to, thanks to a super busy time at work, but YAY NEW POST! 

I received this from HiShop a few days ago, and imma happy girl! They sent it out and I received it the next day, awesome service I must say! Lets un-box my box of goodies shall we? 

shashay

shashay

shashay

I LOVE BUBBLE WRAP! ITS SO FUN!!!! 

shashay

The star brand of the day?
Carol Priest 

Now I have never used this brand before, so I’m pretty excited to write about it; I mean the best part about a brand is discovering something totally new and different.

A little introductions are in order, so say hello to Carol Priest! 

They started out as a small brand in New Zealand, *think fresh green lush surroundings*, and they specialized in making herbal skin care products. And they started wayy back in 1991,  that makes them about 20 years old.

The interesting thing about CP is that they hand make and prepare the products to ensure freshness and so that the goodness in the products are retained. Very similar to theSkintopic I notice, I guess New Zealand brands practice this religiously.

Each product they make contains special mixes of proven botanicals with absolutely no mineral oils to act as carriers. So say no to clogged pores. 

Their light product colours and scents come from ALL  natural sources. Instead of chemicals/synthetic fragrances, they use essential oils, in its unadulterated form.( meaning not mixed or diluted with any different or extra elements; complete and absolute).

Combine all of the above, and you get an amazing line of natural, fresh, & quality products!

I recieved 5 products from the Carol Priest brand, courtesy of HiShop, so I’m going to break em down to two posts so that you dont have ANOTHER super long post from me *thousand apologies*

#1 : Orangeflower Cleansing Milk for all skin types (30 ml) 

shashay

shashay

  • This is a light cleansing milk, which was made to cleanse all types of skin, yay to no skin discrimination =D
  • It contains cold pressed essential oils of lemon, bitter orange and sweet orange included for their astringent tonifying (is that a word?) and cleansing properties.
  • And it contains sweet almond oil and cold pressed jojoba oil that helps to nourish skin! 

Active Ingredients: 
Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) , Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Oil, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange ) Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange)Flower Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary ) Leaf Extract.

It comes in a very beautiful glass bottle and  upon first smelling it, I think it smells very citrusy! 

shashay

How to use? Its actually quite similar to an  oil cleanse .

  1. First, skin has to be super clean and free from any dirt, bacteria and oils. Apply a small amount, or you can also use a lot! I used a penny sized dollop.
  2.  Make a warm compress using a clean wash cloth and apply firmly to the face and neck areas for a few minutes.This helps to open pores and dissolve any oils on your skin.
  3. The soaking of clean skin helps the aromatic essential oils and plant oils dissolve and soften skin.
  4. Massage the cleansing milk into the skin and neck, let it slowly absorb into your skin, and do avoid the eye area. I did this massage for like 5 minutes. Use small circular motions and create a light lather.
  5. Remove the milk using a warm wash cloth. Rinse any traces of the milk  by splashing warm water over your face and neck.
  6. Optional* finish with a cold compress and rinse.

PS: This product is not suitable for pregnant women. 

My face after using the cleaning milk. Not too bad, quite clear. LOL

shashay

So what do I think?

Scent: A very nice light citrus smell, I like it, my skin smells fresh. Smells a lot like herbs and fresh forests comes to mind.
Lather: It lathers really well, you only need a small amount to get the whole face, and its really creamy, like massaging milk on your skin! 
Removing: Since I’m using the warm water and wash cloth, it removes all traces of the milk perfectly, but if you were just to use normal temperature water and just your hands, *AND I tried this way as well*, it leaves a slight oily feel, which I dont really mind, since I have dry skin, but if this would bother you, I’d suggest you to use the wash cloth =)
End result: I think it leaves my skin feeling very smooth, and it is very moisturizing. After a few days using this milk, my skin feels more supple and it kind of glows! 

I rate this product an 8 out of 10 points. 

Pros: An awesome product as a whole. Not much to complain about, I didnt have any breakouts from the milk, and no adverse effects. Plus I have glowy skin now, so YES! 
Cons: Just like the Oil Cleanse, this takes patience and time, and I think its worth it, since great skin takes effort and some time.

This product retails at HISHop for RM85.00 for 30 ml but they’re having a massive discount now *see below*

Link to purchase:
http://www.hishop.my/carol-priest/carol-priest-orangeflower-cleansing-milk-30ml

#2 : Carol Priest Damask Rose Toner for sensitive, dry & mature skin types

shashay

  • An mild and hydrating toner to help restore moisture and improve skin texture.
  • The damask rose species Rosa damascena has been carefully selected for its deep tenacious rosy perfume and tonifying properties
  • Apply morning and night. Use it alone or after cleansing.
  • Use it to freshen up at any time of day or whenever skin feels dry. Spray onto the face and neck, avoiding the eye area

Active Ingredients:
Distilled Water (Aqua), Rosa Damascena Flower Oil.

shashay

How to use?

  1. I saturate a cotton pad with about one teaspoon of toner.(I’m using my Lilian Bell Cotton )
  2. Gently apply it to my cleansed face and neck. 
  3. Leave to dry!

PS: This product is not suitable for pregnant women.

DSC02909

Pat Pat Pat!

shashay

So what do I think?

Scent: A very strong rose scent, so if you’re a fan of roses, you’re in luck! Your skin smells like roses for at least an hour after application. I smell like a rose garden now!
Application: Simple and easy, and it dries pretty quickly too, within 2-3 minutes, and leaves a nice tingly feeling afterwards.
End result: I think it leaves my skin feeling very nice smelling, and I like the smell, makes me smell all girly and feminine. 

I rate this product an 9 out of 10 points.

Pros: Love the toner, it removes any traces of dirt on my face, and I smell awesome. 
Cons: Nothing to comment on =)

Link to purchase: 

http://www.hishop.my/carol-priest/carol-priest-damask-rose-toner-100ml

This product retails at HISHop for RM139.00 for 100ml but they’re having a massive discount now *see below*

Carol Priest is running a 20% discount for the month of November!  Check it out here!
http://www.hishop.my/carol-priest

And guess what, for all my readers you get the below! 

RM20 rebate for all my awesomesauce readers.
Key in the code below during checkout to redeem this offer:
NOVSPECIAL
With minimum purchase of RM99, valid until the 15th of December 2013

Check em out here okay! 

shashay

Like HiShop on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/hishopmy
Follow HiShop on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/hishop.my
Subscribe to HiShop for exclusive updates: http://www.hishop.my/subscribe

I’m pretty impressed with Carol Priest so far, and do follow my updates for Part 2 of my Carol Priest Journey! 

My happy face after using Carol Priest!!

shashay

xoxo,
Shashay

38 thoughts on “Carol Priest: Cleansing Milk & Damask Rose Toner Review

  1. Pingback: Carol Priest: Part 2, Green Clay Mask, Facial Lotion & Hand and Body Cream | Shashay

  2. This looks like an awesome brand! Thank you for telling us all about it. I love the ingredients list for the products. They look like they are great for your skin! GIG

  3. Lucky you! These products sound fantastic… gotta love anything with roses smells …. so relaxing! 😀 Im a little concerned by the fact that it is not suitable for pregnant woman….why is it?

    giglove!

  4. It’s always nice to learn about new brands n even more if the brands are this good! It looks quite interesting. I hate the lengthy process of the cleansing milk :-/
    Thanks for sharing this with us 🙂
    ❤ giglove

  5. Pingback: Skin rejuvenation: Yonka Phyto 58 Rejuvenation Treatment Cream PNG Normal to Oily Pro. Size 3.52/oz

  6. Pingback: La Belle Paris Skin Care: Rose Toner, Face Mask & Marine Scrub | Shashay

  7. Pingback: Novexpert Paris : Repulp Mask, The 10 Minutes Expert | Shashay

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

