Yogurt & Honey Hair and Face Mask

Hello awesomesauces!

Fancy treating yourself to some all natural goodness? With all the amount of chemicals we’re exposed to on a daily basis, its always good to lay off the store bought products and become a kitchenista for a bit!

I love messing around in the kitchen, making home masks for myself and DIY’ing beauty recipes, since its very cost effective, and today I’ll share one of my simplest, most uncomplicated hair AND face mask to DIY.
Yes, its a 2 in 1 recipe, how awesome 🙂

The ingredients I’m using today has been used in beauty products for many many ages/centuries,  and chances are, if you can eat them, they’re also safe for your hair and face, so don’t worry about any side effects.

You will need 2 ingredients:

  1. All natural, plain yogurt. Greek yogurt  works better apparently, but I couldn’t find any, so I used my plain old regular, ol’ fashioned Nestle yogurt. (5 tablespoons)
  2. Honey. Any type is fine too (3 table spoons)

shashay

Before going into the recipe, lemme tell you why these two ingredients are like magic! 

Yogurt provides your hair with amazing shine and softness that no store bought product can. The yogurt restores moisture and strengthens your hair as well, which is something I need since I have hair fall and dry hair. It leaves your hair and face smelling like milky goodness, which is an added plus. Yogurt also contains citric acid and enzymes that fights dandruff and itchy scalp, so if you suffer from those problems, you might wanna give this mask a try.

The honey acts as a shine booster and adds much needed luster to the hair, and honey is antibacterial, plus has massive healing attributes. Apparently honey also is a humectant which attracts moisture to your skin and hair.

This recipe is so simple that a 5 year old can do it!

  1. Mix the yogurt and honey in a small bowl, and mix well.
  2. Apply generously to DRY hair and face. Sometimes I drag the mask to the neck /decollete area as well. Do avoid the eye area.
  3. Cover hair with shower cap, let the face dry. I usually watch a movie or an episode of Vampire Diaries while the mask absorbs into my hair and face. 
  4. Leave for 20-30 minutes.
  5. Once the mask feels hard and tight, and cracky on your face, time to wash them off.
  6. Rinse hair with water, I do this twice to get all the yogurt bits out, and follow with shampoo/facial cleanser (optional).

You can use your fingers or a brush for application. I prefer my fingers cause I can get the mask into may scalp better. You can use this mask with your oily and unwashed hair and face, no worries. For the hair, make sure you get the mask deep into your scalp, since that’s where we want the goodness to absorb.Give your head a good massage while applying the mask, since a massage will encourage blood circulation to your scalp. Massage the mask into your skin as well, the mask makes an excellent exfoliant.

This mask is such simple pampering treatment!

shashay (2)

And there you go 🙂
Some personal comments of mine after trying this mask would be that my hair definitely feels so much smoother, and I don’t have to even comb it after the wash. My hair smells so good as well, since I keep sniffing them throughout the day.  My face feels much softer, and I think the mask kind of lightened my skin as well. Or maybe that’s just the lighting messing with me. Either way, this mask is a winner, and a keeper!

You can mess around with this recipe with other things that are easily found around your kitchen, like adding in lemon juice, or olive oil, or even fresh fruits! I prefer to eat my fruits though, since I always believe that in order to look good on the outside, you have to be good to your insides too =)

Are you going to try the mask out after reading? Any favourite all natural masks that you use for yourself? Let me know, I might want to try them out!

xoxo,
Shashay

2 thoughts on “Yogurt & Honey Hair and Face Mask

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

