The Bl-hair Witch Project

Hello awesomesauces!

I’ve had issues with my hair as long as I can remember. First of all, I don’t have a lot of it, and the little that I have was falling out, and I even developed dandruff somewhere along the way. Ugh.  Recently I discovered a magical shampoo that got rid of my dandruff, (you can read about that here) and left my scalp flake free, but I was still having greasy scalp issues.

At this point of my life, I was sick with my head and my hair, so I decided to go on a massive strike and stopped washing my hair altogether! A bit extreme I know, but desperate times call for desperate measures.

Plus I started reading up on the no-poo movement, which isn’t about refusing to actually take a poop, if that is possible 🙂 but what it is, is actually to say no to shampoo‘s. People who swear by the no poo method believe that shampooing with your typical shampoos remove the natural oils produced by the scalp causing the scalp to produce more oil to compensate. And when you have more oil on your head, you shampoo even more. Notice the vicious cycle?

So I tried not shampooing my hair, but just washing it with only warm water every other day.

I lasted all of 5 days. 😦

At the end of the 5 days, I could not stand the sight of my hair anymore, I didn’t mind the grease and yuckiness, but I was starting to resemble Helena Bonham Carter, and not in the talented way.

helena-bonham-carter-hair

And I caved. I washed my hair with my regular shampoo, but I only used a tiny tiny bit, about two teaspoons to wash the whole of my scalp. And guess what? My hair looked absolutely f**cking fabulous after the wash! And this is without conditioner, blow drying, or combing. Not washing it as often seems to give my hair lovely shine, volume and it seems that not much hair is falling out too. And I seem to see less grease on my scalp (or is that my mind playing tricks on me?)

I just love the way my hair looks all fluffy and vo-vo-vo-volumized! Seems its getting long too. Do forgive the sans make-up look I’m sporting since this was like 5 mins before I hit the bed.
My hair decides to look fab before going to bed, WTF. 

???????????????????????????????

At the moment, I’m trying to see how much longer I can last not washing my hair, and hopefully I can stretch it out to washing it once a week since I really want to document the progress of the no poo method on myself.

If you see me on a daily basis and are reading this post, feel free to look disgusted and horrified and to avoid me the next time you meet me. I can already hear my you people going *psst, there goes the girl who doesnt shampoo her hair! *

Anyway, comment on what you think about the no poo method, or if you have some ingenious method of cleaning your hair without the regular chemically produced shampoos we use!

xoxo,
Shashay

12 thoughts on “The Bl-hair Witch Project

  1. I remember watching the Blair Witch Project when I was like 17 … wont even tell you how far back that was but I do share sentiments with you as far as lack of hair and unmanageable hair goes … so after umpteen misses, i think I may have just found my hit and that is in the form of Aveda’s Be Curly .. yes it is worth it’s price tag for it loves my hair like no other.. though because Ms. Ashley says so and because her hair makes her my poster girl I must so try Rahua sometime soon… but really with hair like ours.. shampooing it twice a week is more then enough that us unless you’re always out and about and hitting the gym very often 🙂

    • Laura’s hair is amazing isnt it? =) I checked out reviews on Aveda’s Be Curly, and now I’m torn between Aveda and Rahua, although I can hear the voice in my head telling me to get both! Lack of hair is something I’ve been dealing with for a while now, and it terrifies me to think someday I might end up bald *gasp* Do you have that fear? 😦

      • OMG, yes I do . I know that it’s quite impossible though but I have big nightmares about my scalp showing through very thin hair as I get older… if that should ever happen ( heaven forbid) i would not be adverse to getting a wig … one of those where it’s a good hair day everyday 😛 but lets hope it never come to that, no?!!!

  2. Hi,
    L’occitane Repairing shampoo improved my greasy scalp, getting much less hair drop , and no tangles. Just to share as it may help you too .. Cheers 🙂

  3. I completely agree. Not washing my hair as much has made it infinitely healthier and less prone to thinning. It’s why I’m so reliant on dry shampoos! Pick up some of Sephora’s dry shampoo next time you’re in store. It will prolong the length of time between the need for washing.

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

