Smashbox Photo Op Under Eye Brightener Illuminateur : A Review

People are like stained glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.

-Elisabeth Kubler-Ross-

A while back, I got myself the Smashbox Photo Op Under Eye Brightener Illuminateur which is designed to brighten and counteract under-eye dark circles. I’ve been using this for almost 2 weeks now, and boy do I have news for you!

shashay (2)

And the one thing I can say about this product is this:

shashay

I sparkle like Edward freaking Cullen.

Yes, the illuminateur shines & sparkles, but not like you have glitter on your face. The illuminateur is supposed to eliminate the need of a concealer, but I find that it doesn’t really conceal any dark circles (sorry my panda eyed/sleep deprived readers), BUT it does brighten and adds some life to my eyes and also doubles as a highlighter.

The illuminateur contains Vitamin E, red wine extract, peptides and marine collagen which all aid in minimising the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.

As you can see, its a nude colour with light shimmers in it.

shashay (3)

It comes with a brush, much like a nail polish brush, and all you do is blend it under your eyes with your fingers, and voila, instantly bright shiny eyes! On the description of the illuminateur,  it says that for a lifted and youthful appearance, highlight the inner corners of the eye and orbital bone and you can even fake a plump pout by dabbing the illuminateur on the top of the cupid’s bow.

shashay (1)

Personally, I use this as a light reflector as well as a highlighter, but its a pretty pricey highlighter, since it costs approximately USD 20 for a tiny tube. I tried using the illuminateur and taking a picture of my eyes, but I couldn’t get my damn camera to focus, so I’ll update the before and after pictures once I manage to get a decent picture.

The illuminateur comes in only one shade, which is Nude, so if you’re tanned like me, and worried about it not blending into your skin, trust me, it blends like magic. 

I love this product to death, it doesn’t take much effort or blending, and it makes my zombie-fied face look more awake, so I’ve got no complaints.

Let me know what’s your favourite highlighter/concealer is in the comments!

As I’m typing this post, I’m belting out tunes from Les Miserables and I’ve got “One Day More” & “Do You Hear The People Sing” stuck in my head. What’s the song stuck in your head today?

xoxo,
Shashay

5 thoughts on “Smashbox Photo Op Under Eye Brightener Illuminateur : A Review

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

