Revlon Colorstay Concealer : Does It Cover Those That Need To Stay Undercover?

Considering I have a massive craving for a good glass of wine and a box of chocolates at the moment, this seems appropriate.

shashay

There has been much ado about the Revlon Colorstay Range, and the line is most known for its amazing foundations. I must tell you that the Whipped Creme Foundation is the best thing that happened to mankind since the invention of whipped cream. And the best part? The shade Caramel is perfect for my brown skin. Oh the joys of being a brown girl looking for make-up!

Now lets talk concealer. Personally, I don’t have massive problem areas to conceal on my skin except a few blemishes here and there, and some eye bags/suitcases that  have been genetically blessed with. Lucky me 😉

I was in the market for a concealer that could cover my basic issues, and hence, I found the Revlon Colorstay Concealer in the shade Medium! I’ve read quite a bit of reviews about this product, both good and bad, and I thought I’d give this baby a shot and I picked up the shade 04 Medium.

There are 5 shades to choose from; Fair, Light, Light Medium, Medium & Medium Deep, but apparently Malaysia only carries 3 shades which is Light Medium, Medium & Medium Deep.
Bummer.

Desktop

The name of the product irks me, since its spelled color instead of colour. That’s just me though isn’t? Oh well.
Potato Potato Tomato Tomato.

shashay (2)

Now before I head into the review, I would need to advise you lot that this concealer only has light coverage, so if you need a heavy duty concealer with heavy coverage, this probably isn’t the concealer of your dreams. Sorry peeps 😦

The concealer comes with a doe foot applicator which I always appreciate, and is liquid in texture. (I don’t really fancy cream or stick concealers for some reason) The applicator makes it very easy to dot the concealer onto the specific areas you need extra coverage.

shashay (6)

According to Revlon, this concealer provides 24 hour coverage, covers imperfections, conceals blemishes and dark circles & full yet undetectable coverage.

Why does one need 24 hour coverage? One does not simply wear concealer 24/7.

The formula of the concealer is thick & creamy which will give you that sheer to medium coverage that you’re looking for. The texture of the concealer is great, and it blends very well into my problem areas but one thing about it, is that the formula is quite dry and will crease if you don’t prep your skin well. I prep with a tonne of moisturizer and blend this concealer on gently either with my fingers or a brush, and I get the same results in the end. The product is very smooth and feels very lightweight on the skin and lasts approximately 4-5 hours in our humid/warm Malaysian weather.

A swatch for you to watch?

shashay (4)

As you can see, after blending, the concealer is almost invisible, and I look like I don’t even have concealer on!

shashay (1)

You don’t need a lot of it, just a tiny bit will suffice to hide the spots, blemishes or redness. The product gives a soft matte and a satin finish for oily skin, HOWEVER dry skin like mine will probably see some creasing, so the prepping bit is recommended.

For a concealer though, this product lacks pigmentation. Since I personally have okay skin, this concealer is great in my books, but for anyone with more severe skin issues, this concealer is an epic fail. Call yourself a concealer? Hmpph!

Some closing thoughts on this concealer: I would repurchase this concealer, considering it provides me the coverage I need, and it isn’t pricey at all. It provides decent coverage when applied and giveslong, flawless wear under my eyes. And like I’ve been saying, if you need a heavy duty concealer, stay away from this one, and try the Nars Creamy Concealer instead. (Now that is a self respecting concealer) 

The Revlon Colorstay Concealer retails at most pharmacies and drugstores nationwide for RM42.

Let me know if you have any better concealer in mind that you personally adore, and we shall swap concealer joys and horrors! 🙂

xoxo,
Shashay

6 thoughts on “Revlon Colorstay Concealer : Does It Cover Those That Need To Stay Undercover?

  1. Pingback: What Can You Do With RM50 These Days? | Shashay

  2. If anyone needs a full coverage yet light concealer, let me tell you this: You need Kryolan DermaColor Camouflage Cream in your life. Wayne Goss (gossmakeupartist on YT) confirmed this on his video- “One concealer to rule them all £5” but in Malaysia I got it for RM35 (repack 5ml). There are many Kryolan stockists in Malaysia just google it. But first find the video and watch it.

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

