Hydraluron : Hit or Miss?

How often do you pick up an item based on a positive review you read somewhere? Maybe via word of mouth from a friend of a friend of a friend? Sometimes, all the time, never? Guilty here!

Personally, I read A LOT of product reviews in general, and every girly outing I have always involves and ends with discussions, reviews and debates on whether a product has failed us, amazed us, or left us feeling a little meh. I love my girlfriends to death, but sometimes I swear they’re bad for my bank account 😉 Yes I mean you Arpita ! 

On top of my girlfriends trying to bankrupt me, I also have people like Paris B who are enablers to my endless shopping addiction, who feeds my daily dose of pretty via her product reviews & my review of the Hydraluron Moisture Booster today is all thanks to her as well!

After reading her review of the infamous Hydraluron, I pretty much felt like this.

katy-perry-omg

First of all, I didn’t know Hydraluron was available locally. *smacks head on wall*

Once I knew it was within my reach,  I knew I had to try it out ASAP!

The only snag was that Hydraluron was available in Malaysia in one store only, would you believe that? And on top of that, half the time, Hydraluron is sold out. I remember as I was purchasing my own tube, the sales assistant was telling me, “Miss, you should get a few more tubes since we only have a couple of tubes of Hydraluron left, and the next shipment doesn’t come in until a months time”. If you see Hydraluron, pick it up before someone else does 🙂 Plus you’re ever in Sunway Pyramid and passing through Muse by Watsons, please pick me up some Hydraluron!

Anyway, I finally did drag my lazy butt to Sunway one fine day and got myself this baby, and can I just say, imma happy mama?? *insert wacky dance here*

hydraluron review

Hydraluron is the baby of Indeed Laboratories and is manufactured in the holy land of maple syrup, Canada. Muse by Watsons only carries 4 items from Indeed Laboratories, including Hydraluron(RM80),which is the Nanoblur  (RM65), Snoxin (RM130), and the Eysilix (RM99).

*Nanoblur is an instant skin perfector, and works much like a face primer, Snoxin is a facial line lifter and Eysilix is an eye cream.

I’ve actually also got my eye on Nanoblur, since reviews are telling me that its good stuff. (see how easily swayed I am by glowing reviews? Thank you Internet!) 

At the first glance, Hydraluron comes in a very simple, clinical, packaging but that pink, oh boy! I’m not a big fan of pink, but I do love the pink box it comes in. One tube of Hydraluron contains 30 ml of hyaluronic acid, however, as I’m reading through the ingredient list, I don’t see Hyaluronic acid listed in it, instead I see Sodium Hyaluronate, the salt version of the acid. I’m not entirely sure why that is, maybe the raw, pure hyaluronic acid is too strong for direct application?

hydraluron review (2)

hydraluron review (6)

And if you’re new to beauty jargon, hello, and a few things about hyaluronic acid, its is literally the best thing that ever happened to skincare, as it is boosts moisture in skin like anything, it also slows down aging, and has also been touted as the key ingredient in healing scars.

Hydraluron is a clear liquid with a consistency slightly thicker than water, which means it is a little tacky and not as runny as water. To be perfectly honest, it has the consistency of snot. Come on, you know what I mean 😆 The liquid is very easily absorbed, and leaves skin feeling matte-er than usual.

IMPORTANT: Hydraluron is a serum, and you use this underneath your moisturizer as this isn’t a topical moisturizer.

According to the description on the box, “the serum provides below the surface hydration and is NOT a substitute for any moisturizing creams. Using this product increases the skins ability to retain moisture over time and reduces the amount of topical moisturizers needed to maintain ideal skin hydration.”

hydraluron review (5)

I had a few concerns and apprehensions about using Hydraluron as some people reported cystic acne and massive skin flare ups. If you have sensitive skin, or if your skin cant handle hyaluronic acid in large amounts, you may want to stay off this product.  I decided to have a go, since curiosity was killing me, and I already bought the darn thing hadn’t I? 😛

Directions of use: I use Hydraluron twice a day, morning and night, and its the first thing that goes onto my skin after my toner, and then my other serum, moisturizer, etc. I use a pea size amount for my whole face area. After application, skin will feel slightly tacky, but continue on with your normal skincare routine.

hydraluron review (3)

One thing about the tube-screw on packaging though, I haven’t seen this happening to anyone else, so it might just be me, but every-time I place the tube horizontally on my vanity, the next day, a little bit of Hydraluron seems to leak out and I have to scoop it up out of the cap. I have now placed in standing vertically with the cap at the top to prevent any spillage, and that seems to be working fine.

hydraluron review (1)

Personal Thoughts: One month down the road after using Hydraluron, I do not notice significant changes on my skin, HOWEVER, I noticed little things like how softer my skin feels now compared to a month back. Any acne scars I have seem to heal much faster, and my skin has a certain glow to it. Even my skin texture feels much nicer now and applying makeup is a breeze because they glide on so smoothly onto my skin. Oil seeds seem to extract easier, and my skin is just so plump and full!

Mum casually mentioned that my skin seems brighter and I agree, my skin looks much better than it did one month ago.  Moisture wise, I don’t really know because how does one measure moisture levels? I don’t have dry patches, and my skin feels smooth and soft all day, so I’m assuming Hydraluron is doing its job. *I might need to get that device that measures moisture levels at some point*

I think Hydraluron doesn’t improve hydration in an obvious way, but does it very sneakily, because all its magic is deep down under the skin. 🙂

Is Hydraluron something I’ll continue to use? Of course, I still have 3/4 of a tube left! Repurchase? Yes! If I were to sum up Hydraluron in one word, it would be this:

860087

Have you tried Hydraluron before? What do you think of it? Lemme know!

Hydraluron Moisture Booster is available at  Muse by Watson’s at Sunway Pyramid for RM88 (30ml).

xoxo,
Shashay

9 thoughts on “Hydraluron : Hit or Miss?

  1. Hey, I just started using this a few weeks ago. I have to place the tube vertically to avoid spillage! I read reviews but no one seems to mention the spillage so I thought it was just me.

  2. Pingback: Frank Fridays With Shashay #6 | Shashay

  3. Pingback: [Review] b.liv Power Duos – Hydro Quench Booster | Shashay

  4. Pingback: March Empties! | Shashay

  5. Pingback: [Product Launch] Getting to Know 3CE & the Indeed Labs Hydraluron Moisture Jelly | Shashay

  6. Pingback: [Review] Indeed Labs Facial Powdered Exfoliator & The Hydraluron Moisture Jelly Moisturiser | Shashay

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

