Nars Made My Lashes Look Larger Than Life!

I remember breathing a huge sigh of relief when NARS’s first ever store opened up in Malaysia, and I even did a fan-girl worthy post to celebrate their launch!  You can read that post here. I’m actually also really looking forward to their Narcissist Palette which is due to launch in April, so fingers crossed for me to get my greedy hands on it 🙂

Despite my publicly professed love for NARS, I haven’t reviewed a NARS item to date now have I?  I guess its our lucky day today because I have not one, but two NARS products to talk to you guys about! Shall we?

NARS Volumizing & Lengthening Mascara

When I got these babies the other day, I was like GASPPPP!! *insert fan-girl scream here*

giphy

The two products I have today are the NARS Larger Than Life Lengthening Mascara & Volumizing Mascara!

I am a fan of big fluttery lashes, but I don’t fancy wearing fake lashes because they feel a tad heavy, and I don’t want to worry about my lashes falling out, so mascara has always been my go to product for more prominent lashes. I have tried and tested quite a bit of mascaras in my beauty loving life, but I have never tried a higher end one like NARS, so I’m pretty excited to see how it compares to the drugstore mascaras that I usually use.

NARS Volumizing & Lengthening Mascara (4)

Lengthening Mascara Product Description:  This mascara delivers length and separation with its high-performance formula. The high-tech bristles on the conical brush allows for maximum lengthening capabilities and precise lash definition that lasts all day. Nylon fibers cling to lashes for extra length, while macadamia nut oil and vitamin E help enhance their suppleness. You’ll be left with impossibly long and impossibly sexy lashes.

Volumizing Mascara Product Description:  This lush, vitamin-enriched mascara boosts volume and curl with every stroke. The signature “honeycomb” fibers of the brush are designed for maximum product pickup and smooth, even distribution that coats every lash without smudging or flaking. The rich, deep pigment magnifies the effect, creating a thick fringe that’s high-definition, high drama, and bigger than ever. Every lash is coated with a velvety finish; no clumping, smudging or flaking. Lush. Lavish. Dramatically full lashes for high-drama lashes that are bigger than ever. 

Each mascara is 6g and comes in NARS’s signature rubber packaging. Now I’ve heard a few complaints previously about the rubber packaging melting and becoming tacky, but NARS seemed to have modified the packaging in recent years, so I trust that the packaging is no longer an issue.

Also, the mascara has no scent to it, just in case anyone was wondering. 😉

NARS Volumizing & Lengthening Mascara (5)

Looking at the wand of both mascaras, its obvious to see that they are designed differently, whereby the lengthening one has a conical wand, and the volumizing one has NARS’s signature honeycomb wand. The conical wand apparently allows lengthening effects and also separates lashes more effectively, while the honeycomb wand is designed to pick up maximum product for that va va voom volume!!

NARS Volumizing & Lengthening Mascara (3)

If you read the product description closely, you may have noticed that both the mascaras contain Vitamin E and macadamia oil. You may ask why, so lemme explain. Macadamia oil is known for containing essential fatty acids that protect hair from the elements and whilst Vitamin E is very widely known for its hair growth properties as well as preserving the lustre, strength and shine of hair.

Testing 1…2….3…. in progress.

Here is a before and after picture of me wearing the NARS Larger Than Life Lengthening Mascara.

As you can clearly see, my lashes look extra long, I felt like I was Mr. Snuffleupagus from Sesame Street! No clumping, lashes separated perfectly, and no smudging after wearing it for more than 12 hours.

Application wise, the lengthening wand is quite thin, so it manages to coat all the lashes and get into any nook and crannies to give you amazing length.

NARS Volumizing & Lengthening Mascara (3)

Being born Indian, I’m already blessed with relatively thick lashes, but who doesn’t want thicker lashes?

Have a look at what the NARS Larger Than Life Volumizing Mascara does for me.

After using the volumizing mascara, my lashes look much thicker, and as it promises, no clumping. I was wearing this mascara for about 12 hours with zero smudging or flaking!

Application is pretty straightforward, but since the volumizing wand is comparatively bigger than the lengthening wand, you have to be a little careful during application.

PS: If you were wondering, yes, I was walking around for 12 hours with the lengthening mascara on one eye and the volumizing mascara on the other eye. I hope no one noticed!

Oh the joys of being a beauty blogger 😉

NARS Volumizing & Lengthening Mascara (1)

And I decided to combine both mascaras, using the lengthening mascara first, and the volumizing one second, and this was my awesomesauce results! Look at that length and volume after just one coat! I think these mascaras work best as a set, don’t you? The mascara is buildable, and if you wish to have more dramatic lashes, try 2-3 coats.

NARS Volumizing & Lengthening Mascara (2)

Personally, I loved the combination of the mascaras as they provided me with the best results compared to using them separately. It looks as if I’m wearing fake lashes, sans the heaviness. The mascara does not move one bit in our Malaysian weather, and it takes quite a bit of make-up remover to get rid of completely as it is waterproof. On top of that, the mascaras dries quite quickly, so if you accidentally stabbed your eyes (please don’t) with the mascara wand, have a Q tip handy to clean it up.

So drugstore vs high-end? Compared to my regular Maybelline Falsies that I’m using at the moment, the NARS mascaras surely win, hands down! There is reason these products are pricey, and you definitely get your money back in quality and results. I think I’ll stick with Nars for a while, but as you all know, I get distracted with new items very easily! 

Wearing the mascara the whole day made me feel like this, LOL!
My, my, what lovely lashes I have!
Larger than life? Oh yeah 🙂

tumblr_m1z9b57mHL1r5jtugo1_500

The NARS mascara retails for RM95 and is available at the one and only NARS Malaysia store at Pavilion.

What do you guys think? Is this something on your wish list now? 

xoxo,
Shashay

12 thoughts on “Nars Made My Lashes Look Larger Than Life!

  1. Shasha, I’m so jealous of your naturally long lashes and they look even better with the NARS effect so yes, this looks like a good one – I think anything with the NARS logo tends to have a wishlist effect on us beauty junkies.

    On the other hand, as with all lovely branded cosmetics, I note the RM95 ticket price for this little fella and I’m going to admit that I hesitate to drop big dough a mascara because I almost never end up using them enough before they dry out on me.

    As much as I wouldn’t mind a NARS mascara, I think I may have to stick with my usual el cheapo and GWP lash wands and commit my cash to products where there is a greater likelihood of me being able to ‘hit the pan’ and finishing them.

    And since we’re on the subject of NARS, I’ve heard that the Narcissist palette might be a different beast to all the other NARS products we’ve been used to so I’d want to do a good & proper swatch before I buy because I just can’t say the blogger jury has been all positive on this latest creation by NARS.
    I’d be interested to hear your thoughts post-swatch.

  2. Babe! it really works if you use both together kan! I too have long lashes so I usually just use volumizing ones . Usually two coats. But since these two are perfect. I think I;m gonna give it a try once my mascara runs out. I have so many new ones that I have yet to use up hehe. Anyways! I miss u big time!

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

