Standout From The Crowd With The Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms

47574591

Judging from the meme, you already know I absolutely love the Revlon Matte Balms.

Do I still need to do the review? No? Okay, bye then !!!

Nahh, I need to do this review and tell the whole universe all about the Revlon Matte Balms, and how they’ve rocked my world! 😯

First of all, allow me to express how disappointed I am that Malaysia does not have all 10 colours of the matte balms.

Revlon Malaysia, why? Why you do this to me? The hoarder in me is crying for all the shades. 😥

Either way, I’ll show you guys all 10 shades okay?  These next two pics credited to:
http://beautyjunkielondon.com/2014/01/new-revlon-colourburst-matte-balm.html

revlon-colour-burst-crayon-matte-1024x682

Swatches from the left : 215 Shameless , 220 Showy, 250 Standout , 240 Striking, 210 Unapologetic  , 225 Sultry  , 205 Elusive , 230 Complex ,235 Mischievous  , 245 Audacious

11441884123_6c8c716884_z

They look amazing right? Too bad Malaysia only has 8 shades.. 😦 Striking and Elusive are yet to be available to us.

Product Description:  A matte finish that’s beyond plush. Balm that’s beyond comforting. Our Triple Butter Complex of Shea, Coconut and Mango butters nourishes lips. In 10 collectible, craveable colors. 

I agree, they ARE craveable colours.

At the moment, I only own the shade Standout which is a blue based red with amazing pigmentation. Based on my crazy swatching of the Matte Balms at Sasa the other day, I would say that all the Matte Balms have amazing pigmentation with striking shades! The colour selection of the Matte Balms are weird though, a red, a few pinks, and suddenly a bright orange. Hmmmm…

Revlon Matte Balm (9)

The Matte Balms come in a bullet packaging,and twists up to reveal the crayons.

One of the things I was quite surprised about was the amount of product in the Matte Balms. As you can see, there isn’t much product. The balms glide on easily, which means its easy to use up a lot of product in one go, and I think one balm can only last me a maximum on 1-2 months.

You stingy Revlon people, I want more product! 😦

Revlon Matte Balm (4)

My ever trusty red lippie in Standout! I find it interesting that the balms have English names, and also French names that are totally different from the English ones!

Revlon Matte Balm (7)

Look at that gorgeous pigmentation! And this coming  from a balm I tell you. As all the other Revlon Balms, the balms leave a minty feeling on application which goes away after an hour or so. I’m not a fan of that minty feel, but since the feel does go away, I’m okay with it.

Revlon Matte Balm (8)

One thing you have to remember at the end of the day, the Matte Balms are balms, and not lipsticks. They don’t exactly dry up like matte lipsticks, so they do have a tendency to smudge, bleed & transfer. I let the swatch above dry for 30 minutes and proceeded to smudge it up with my fingers. See the red mess I created?

On the other hand, they do leave a very nice red stain after all that smudging.

Revlon Matte Balm (2)

Being the red lippie fan that I am, I decided to show you how great it looks on tanned skin!

*My eyebrows, oh gosh. O_o Please ignore them bushy brows.

Revlon Matte Balm (6)

The red shade makes me look  more tanned actually LOL!

Revlon Matte Balm (3)

Personal Thoughts: I love the Matte Balms. The pigmentation is awesomesauce, almost better than a lipstick. The Matte Balm its not as dry as a matte lipstick would be, and is tad more hydrating. The only thing about it is that it does bleed a little. I find that applying some loose powder before applying the balm helps with the bleeding.

The Matte Balm has quite an awesome stay power, and lasts quite a while on the lips even after eating and drinking. I would say 6-7 hours before you need a reapplication. The colour isn’t quite build-able, so what you swipe is what you get. If you try applying more than 1-2 layers, it looks way to heavy and can look a little cakey! And although the balms are called Matte, they aren’t 100% matte, and has a slight shine to it. I give these Matte Balms 5 stars! ⭐  

What do you guys think? Matte Balms for the win?? Let me know what you think!

The Revlon Matte Balms are available at local drugstores for RM35.90 (RRP) but I got mine for only RM29.90 so make sure to look for sales first! Also, stocks run out like crazy, so if you find a shade you like, you better get it before someone else does! 😛

xoxo,
Shashay

19 thoughts on “Standout From The Crowd With The Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms

  1. I do believe the Matte Balms are worth hauling doubles and triples. I made a note to get Elusive when I was abroad. I think Elusive becomes me, don’t you think? I think I might love Standout too and it looks great on you. I only hope it looks as good on me.

    As for your brows (yes, I looked – I always do what people tell me not to do!), I am deathly envious of them. I’d be popping out the bubbly with brows like yours! Got any hair to spare for a thin-browed pal?

    • Shop Girl, I agree, they really are worth hauling doubles! Haha, Elusive certainly suites your mysterious persona 🙂 Standout is that one colour I think suits most people,try it out and tell me!

      you looked!!!! 😦 No fair…! You’re envious of my brows? Gosh, I have the thinnest brows for an Indian, its embarrassing! Haha I’ve got a few hairs I can spare, but I’m not sure you want them , LOL!!!

  2. You look gorgeous ! I have been dying to get myself one of these baby too, but I have a lot unused lipstick lying on my vanity table… 😥

    Anyway, after reading your review, I shall invest in at least one then ! 😀

  3. Pingback: Thursdays, Throwbacks, Babies and Beauty! | Shashay

  4. Pingback: What Can You Do With RM50 These Days? | Shashay

  5. i’ve always wanted to buy these matte balms but even my 2 original just bitten kissable balm stains are nowhere near finishing so i feel bad to buy more. but i really want it!!

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

