Markets @ Jaya One 2014

Haroo!! (I’ve been using this new greeting in real life and people seem to like it 🙂 )

If you read my previous blog-post, I told you peeps I was going to the Markets Bazaar at Jaya One and I’m super happy to announce that it LIVED UP TO MY EXPECTATION. Seriously it was one of their best ones and wish they had it more often. If flea markets, hipster-ish bazaars, funky & vintage fashion markets are your thing, you really should head to Markets. Markets houses the most creative and talented people in Klang Valley whose products range from clothing, beauty products, food, to arts & crafts.

I am actually very broke this month (thanks to my amazing employer who decided budget cuts was the way to go), however, considering Markets only happens a few months once, I decided to go anyway and get myself into a more penniless state (if that’s even possible).

Oh and I’ll upload some of the pictures I have on this blog post, but for more pictures of the bazaar, have a peek at my FB Page Here okay? And drop a like while you’re visiting, I would love love you forever! Teehee ❤

Okay let me rant first. Of all the days the train system in Malaysia can break down, it HAD to happen on the day I was rushing to get to Markets, and at the exact same time I was in the train. I got delayed by almost 45 minutes, thank you very much LRT. It was utter chaos at the train station. I never realized how many people actually take the train on a daily basis, and considering the fact that there were fewer people over the weekend, I was still gobsmacked by the amount of humans around me. Rant over. 😀

I dropped by Markets with Evelyn of yenniedoll.com who also got stuck on her train while rushing to meet me. Poor girl was so traumatized. =_=”  Eve is literally such a soft and gentle person, I can’t imagine her getting angry or pissy at anything. Which makes me wonder how we can get along haha. We met up with Li Chuen once we got to Jaya One and voila, the shopping starts!

This time around, the bazaar wasn’t held outdoors as the previous ones were, most of the booths were set up within The School, which is the retail mall within Jaya One. Thank god for air conditioning this time round!

Markets at Jaya One (7)

Once you walk into The School, we can haz a colourful photo booth set up!
I imagine pictures would turn up awesomesauce with that rainbow background innit?

Made my first stop at Deeper Than Fashion and picked up some amazing designs from the lovely & talented Harmini Asokumar. Wants to know what I got in that baggie? Scroll right to the end of the post 🙂
And I am fully aware of my fats and muffin tops, so lets move past it shall we? 😛

Deeper Than Fashion

During my first round around the bazaar (yes I did 2 and a half rounds to absolutely make sure I didn’t miss anything, I’m also kiasu that way), I noticed one prominent thing. Half the booths were selling accessories, and after 2 rounds, I couldn’t bring myself to look at one more accessory shop. Most of them were selling similar designs with similar prices anyway. I could barf I saw another accessory store selling Korean inspired accessories. Where is the individuality? Booths like these make me appreciate DTF more since Harmini’s designs are limited edition and always one of a kind.

I made a stop at Claire Organics because it smelt so insanely good. I could smell Lavender + Chamomile +I don’t know what else in their products. Their Lavender Rosemary Hair Treatment Oil had an amazing herbal scent, and I’m gonna get a bottle from them soon because I made a mental to get it during the bazaar, but I forgot. :/ I got distracted by many things haha.. 

Markets at Jaya One (1)

The Bag Queen. Not a big fan of bags, so I skipped this altogether.

Markets at Jaya One (2)

DSYR! This is my ultimate favourite shop ever. Their have the oddest bunch of paraphernalia stocked in their store, and I think I spent at least 30 minutes just at their booth. That red box you see? It’s a Vinyl Player, a CD player, plus a USB player, all in one device! Hipster much? They were even selling speakers made of real wood, wtf how does that even exist?

Markets at Jaya One (9)

Skull glass bottles. Forgot the shops name, but I think le boyf would’ve liked this to store his liquor LOL!

Markets at Jaya One (8)

So cute until I can die. ❤ These Easter Eggs are made of a special clay, you know like the ones you see in clay animation? They’re softer &  fluffier than regular clay and molds very easily. I was super tempted to get a box of clay for myself, but really, what would I do with clay? I have zero creative talents, so scrap the clay play. You can check them out at A&O Creative Station. They even have clay classes I tell you!

Markets at Jaya One (4)

I bought some fake tatoos which do not look fake at all from Habittat Supply Co. They have uber cute tats like those Dumb Ways To Die characters which I really wanted but god damn it why am I so broke all the time. 😦

Markets at Jaya One (10)

Popped by Liyana’s store, got some drinks and pies to take home and gobble on! 🙂
Thanks for the free cheesecake love! They were so good!

Markets at Jaya One (6)

How can one not buy these yummy goodies?

Markets at Jaya One (5)

During my last round at Markets, I found out there was a petting zoo where we could play with wabbits! Yes I call em wabbits because I am immature that way.  These bunnies are so fluffy and cute! Their lack of grooming proved to be an effective method to attract people to pet them. I guess most of the bunnies had enough petting for the day, and most of them scampered off and hid behind the bushes where no one could spot them and molest them LOL!

Markets at Jaya One (3)

Oh and of course you wanna know what I got myself, you nosey bunch! 😛 I decided to limit myself to a certain budget, which I managed to adhere by YAY!

From left: A dress from Emcee Couture at a steal price, a pink polka dot blazer from Fabspy which I got for like a quarter of the original price (I swear I’m never buying anything full price ever again), some turquoise stone accessories from a shop which I have no recollection of the name but had amazingly cheap stuff, the mandala necklace from DTF, that red necklace from DTF too, Plum Pie from Liyana, and some cute tats from Habitatt!

PS: The turquoise necklace was only 5 bucks OMG wth so cheap. At a store like Diva, that piece would cost me, what 50 bucks?

Markets Haul

Personally, I’ve enjoyed every Market event I’ve ever attended, and I really am looking forward to the next one. Some tips I have for any of you first timers?

1. Dress for warm weather. Even though the bazaar was held indoors this time, a lot of the clothing stores were still outside in the heat, and I was glad I went for a simple hot pants and t shirt combo.

2. Collect business cards for stores that you are interested in. At Markets, most of the booths will have their business cards handy, and if you spot a store that you may want to look up sometime, you better pick up their card!

3. Carry a tote bag to fill up your purchases. Most booths will have a no-plastic bag policy, so you might want to bring a tote of your own to tote around haha..

4. Bring a bottle of water. Its amazing, I could find stores selling persimmon/strawberry flavoured water but couldn’t find one that sold H2O.

What do you think? Will you be going for the next Markets?

xoxo,
Shashay

4 thoughts on “Markets @ Jaya One 2014

  1. Funny that water is the most elusive tipple of all at Markets. Isn’t it always the case at parties too!
    I originally planned to go to Markets #12 but had to miss it this time because it coincided with the L’Oreal Luxe warehouse sale so I am ultra happy to see your fantastic recap here. Looks like there was some difference to the last Markets which is great. I need to make a point to go to the next one then.
    Just an aside, and if it makes you feel any better, I was caught out by the monorail system too. They were upgrading so that delayed my day some too. Let’s drink to delays in Malaysia’s public transport system together *clinks glasses* They sure now how to pick the very best days for it lol

    • I guess water is the most precious commodity eh? 🙂 That explains all the recent water rationing.
      Aww, how was the warehouse sale hun? I wanted to go for that, but timing clashed with Markets. LOL!
      Markets certainly does up their ante for every event don’t they? I saw tonnes of new booths and stores, and they were certainly very different from the previous ones! I didn’t manage to catch pictures of all the stores though, I was wayy too busy shopping, 😉
      *clinks glass* Malaysia Boleh!

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

