5 Things I Wish I Knew Beforehand About Shoe Shopping

Haroo you awesome people!

I actually have a confession for yall. I love shopping, no doubt about that. Clothes, make up, furniture, cleaning equipment, you name it, I probably love shopping for it! However, shoe shopping is an entirely different matter altogether. I really hate shoe shopping with a vengeance. I love shoes, which girl doesn’t, but I hate going shopping for them. I don’t know what it is, but shoe shopping usually leaves me infuriated, frustrated and exasperated by the end of the day 😦

Unfortunately, my favourite pair of work flats broke and split in half, so I had to go out and get a new pair lest I go to work in my flip-flops. I headed to the nearest mall for a look-see hoping that I could find my dream pair of flats. I did find it a couple of hours later, after much struggling and cursing that is LOL 😀

Post shoe shopping trauma, I have come to realize why I hate shoe shopping so much. The issue was, I didn’t know what to look for in a pair of shoes apart from it looking good on my feet, hence why my shoes never last long, nor can I find a perfect pair that actually fits like a glove. I suppose I’m not the only one with this issue, hence I thought I’d share some bits and bobs I’ve learnt over the past few years about shoes and buying em!

Pic via perfectlyimperfectbeauty

Young woman trying on high heel shoes

Top Tip 1:

Your feet are not identical, and one foot will be larger than the other. Don’t believe me? Pull out the measuring tapes and start measuring! My left foot is bigger than my right one wtf LOL! 

When buying a pair of shoes, make sure you fit your shoe to the larger foot.
PS: Your feet are the largest at the end of the day, so buy shoes in the evening/night.

Top Tip 2: 

Try on three different sizes before you buy a pair of shoes. Lets say your feet is usually a size 8, make sure you try one size up, which would be a size 9, and one size down, which is size 7. If you can find half a size up and down, that’s even better! It wouldn’t matter if the shoe is cute but you can’t walk in them 😀

Most of us are stuck on the numbers, but shoe sizing varies greatly from brand to brand and even within a brand. Better to be safe than sorry, so let your feets tell you what size you need. Don’t buy shoes that feel too tight and expect them to stretch to fit.Even new shoes should feel comfortable right away. If they feel like they need breaking in they’re not the shoes for you. If it cuts and gives you blisters, they’re the wrong shape and width for you. Yes, width matters as well. 

Top Tip 3:

This is a tip I picked up from goodness knows where, but I’ve abided by it almost all my life now. If you have long feet, say sizes 7 and above, you’re better off using shoes that are round tipped. I have size 9 feet, so I can tell you, round tip shoes will give you the illusion of smaller looking feet, and trust me, you don’t want to look like Ronald McDonald in your new pair of shoes 😛

For those with tiny feet, lucky you! You can pull off almost any type of shoe shape including all the sharp tipped ones which I can’t wear ❤

Pic via Recapo

shoes

Top Tip 4: 

Material Matters. If you’re looking to invest in a pair of shoes that will last you a lifetime, the material of the shoe, lining, heel and insole matters.

The insole of the shoe should be smooth and without seams or obtrusive stitching. The bottom of the shoe should be made of flexible, durable material which doesn’t tear easily. The mid-sole of the shoe, which is the part where the feet sit on should be made of lightweight cushioning which will help absorb the shock when we walk on hard surfaces.

If you know the shoe is going to be exposed to water, dirt, and the elements in general, make sure you can clean the shoe easily. Suede is not your friend. Leather might be a good idea.

Top Tip 5:

Think of a budget before hand. Even the thriftiest person can be swayed by a  gorgeous pair of heels. I initially planned to get a pair of work flats for approximately RM100 or less, and I managed to keep within it. If I had extra cash on hand, I would have went for something slightly pricier, maybe a pair from Clarks or Hush Puppies? Those brands are renowned for their uber comfortable yet stylish shoes, and a pair can easily cost you RM300 and above. They also literally last you forever. I might get one of those kinds soon since shoes are definitely a good investment considering how much time one spends wearing them.

And once you’ve taken into consideration all of the tips above, do make sure the shoe is cute! Whats left now?
Ka-ching, puchase! 

What are your thoughts before buying a pair of shoes? Do you have any pre-buy tips that you follow when looking for shoes? Do tell this shoe noob what else she needs to look out for 😀

keep-calm-and-go-shoe-shopping-11

xoxo,
Shashay

 

17 thoughts on “5 Things I Wish I Knew Beforehand About Shoe Shopping

  1. Nice post dear., I am not really a shoe lover but I love shopping! 🙂 lol. I never thought that feet aren’t identical not until now. I’ll measure my feet after giving birth because for the moment my feet is swelling. 🙂 Thank you again for the tips! 🙂 found you on GIG by the way, and leaving you my #gigLove 🙂 hope you can drop by on my blog as well http://switbbydoll.blogspot.com/
    xoxo:)

  2. Haha i totally agree babe! I can never seem to find the perfect flats for me – either they are too pointy, too flashy, no size, material no good or uber uncomfortable. Or maybe im just too picky, lol! 😛

  3. yes i got to agree with all your point and i hate buying shoe online sometime cos it can be too big for me sometime…best to be able to try them on!! thanks for ur tip i pick up some of it!

  4. This is amazing. I never knew about the “one foot is bigger than another”. I thought I was the one who had weird right feet. Love the tips. I’ll definitely keep them in mind next time I go shopping. 😀

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

