[Review] Batiste Dry Shampoo in Original ( Clean & Classic)

Haroo you amazing lot!

I’m back up and running with a review today, and let me introduce you the latest item to make it to my Holy Grail list, the Batiste Dry Shampoos. Now I don’t know how I’ve been living all this while without Batiste, but now that I know of thee, I shall never be separated from you, ever.

The Batiste Dry Shampoo was actually a gift from my girl Arpita, and I have much to thank her for. Shoutout for being an amazing enabler ❤ Both of us have been “blessed” with greasy hair, and anyone with oily hair can tell you that its such a bother to keep washing your hair every other day. Enter dry shampoos. I’m actually familiar with the sprinkle dust versions, whereby you have to pour the dry shampoo powder on the scalp and massage it in, but I was rather out of the loop with the spray on, aerosol versions from Batiste.

Pic Via Ladies With Luggage

Batiste-dry-shampoo

Product Description: Batiste Dry Shampoo is a starch based product with an innovative ‘no water needed formula’ which banishes oily roots and boosts body giving dull lifeless hair the makeover that it needs without any water. A quick burst revitalizes hair leaving it feeling clean and fresh. No need to worry about skipping a shampoo.

The one I got from her was the Original version (Isn’t the original always the best? ) which has a very nice lemony scent to it. Typically, I dislike lemony scents as I always associate them with dish-washing liquid for some reason, but I find that the scent of the original dry shampoo very pleasant and mild.

Batiste Dry Shampoo Review  (3)

How does one use the dry shampoos?
(I know many Malaysians are un-initiated to the concept of dry shampoos thus far.)

how-to-use-sub-1

 

Shake can vigorously and spray Batiste into the roots, keeping the nozzle 30cm from hair.

how-to-use-sub-2

Massage through with fingertips.how-to-use-sub-3

Brush hair and style as usual, and voila, volumized, grease free hair!

The aerosol can is relatively straight forward, just use it as how you would hair spray, but just remember to not get too close to hair as it will leave you with white patches, but concentrate the dry shampoo to the scalp instead as that’s where the grease factory is. After you’ve massaged the powder in, brush your hair and shake the excess off. I find that most of the powder will be gone but some will remain on my scalp. Less is more with these dry shampoos 🙂

Batiste Dry Shampoo Review  (2)

Dry shampoos are such a godsend for people like me who have greasy hair, and not to mention fine hair since dry shampoos provide instant volumization.(is that a legit word?) I’ve been using this on 3rd day hair when I don’t want to wash my hair, yet I still need to go out and look remotely presentable. I get va va voom volume, sans the bother of washing my hair!

Now this isn’t a replacement for shampoos mind you, it’s just a quick cover up for those oily hair days. Dry shampoos will build up on your scalp, so a good clarifying shampoo is essential to remove the dry shampoo gunk of your scalp.

Once the dry shampoo is sprayed on, this what it would rather look like.

Batiste Dry Shampoo Review  (4)

Give it a few good rubs and massages, and the white residue somewhat disappears. If you look really closely, you can see a tiny bit of white dust left 😀

Batiste Dry Shampoo Review  (1)

Personal Thoughts: The Batiste Dry Shampoo in Clean & Classic is amazeballs, nuff said! Like I mentioned earlier, the lemony scent is mild, and it lingers for a few hours which I don’t personally mind. The fumes of the dry shampoo is rather strong, so if you’re sensitive to those kinds of fumes, do stay away.  I love the packaging, it comes in a very colourful retro design which looks very cool on my vanity! Performance wise, it definitely does what it promises, to remove excess grease and provide added body and texture to hair. Like I said, this stuff is made of Holy Grail 😀

Speaking of ingredients, here is what the dry shampoo is made up of:

Butane,Isobutane ,Propane ,Oryza Sativa (Rice) Starch ,Alcohol Denat. ,Parfum (Fragrance), Limonene ,Linalool ,Geraniol ,Benzyl Benzoate ,Distearyldimonium Chloride ,Cetrimonium Chloride.

As you can see, there is rice starch in the dry shampoo, which is explains the white powder residue. And by the way, did you know, talc powder works as well to remove greasiness? I’ve tried it once, but didn’t quite like the gooey residue that built up. Yuck.

Now comes the million dollar question, where and how do I purchase this?

The Batiste range is not available in Malaysia at time of publishing, and the nearest I can think of is probably Bangkok  or even Australia. I know, how extremely frustrating. It only costs GBP 2.99 for the 200 ml can and that’s like what, RM 20? The next time anyone I knows goes to Bangkok, I’m making them buy me at least 5 cans of this to last me a year. I might actually give the other types a go as well, apparently Batiste has a dark hair version of the Dry Shampoo which doesn’t leave the dreaded white residue!

For more information on Batiste and their range of hair products, do visit www.batistehair.com

What do you think of the Batiste Dry Shampoos? Are you also plagued by greasy and un-volumized hair which needs some serious rescuing? Share your thoughts 🙂

xoxo,
Shashay

 

29 thoughts on “[Review] Batiste Dry Shampoo in Original ( Clean & Classic)

  1. Yay!!! Welcome to the dry shampoo obsession! Batiste is available in Watsons in Singapore too! This makes it incomprehensible that we can’t get the stuff here 😦

    • Oh, but we can get it locally now! Batiste Dry Shampoos can be ordered from the lovely Irean or Lisa @iBeauty…here in Malaysia (KK, actually!). They are the only Malaysian stockist at the moment but they are great and I’ve placed an order with iBeauty before and are fantastic and reliable. Great service, fair prices, unique products and fast shipping.
      Here’s the link for your convenience…
      https://www.facebook.com/ibeautystorewithme

      P.S. Miss Bread got me started with dry shampoos too.

  2. not a dry shampoo person at all because of the residue it leave in our hair. but i guess if you really need a quick fix for greasy and flat hair, this product will be a God send…
    giglove

  3. If I don’t shampoo my hair then it’ll get greasy really quickly. But if I give it a thorough shampooing then thankfully it doesn’t grease up no matter how hot it gets. That’s why dry shampoos aren’t exactly a necessity for me, but I still like buying them to keep my hair fresh and smelling good throughout the day.

  4. Hi Guys!

    Realized that there are quite a number of people in Malaysia (or rather here in this post comments) who are looking for Batiste dry shampoo.

    Am actually retailing this product!

    Feel free to browse through my website to order one or just to learn more about Batiste dry shampoo. We have a complete information there.

    Thanks

  5. Pingback: March Empties! | Shashay

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

