[Review & Giveaway] Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

Hello awesomesauces!!

I can haz a giveaway for you today! Yeap, if you stick around til the end of the post there is a special giveaway for all my amazing readers, or if you’re too lazy to read what I have to say, skip right to the end and click on the Rafflecopter giveaway link in blue at the bottom of the post to join the giveaway 🙂 I’d also like to thank Bare Beauty Shop for making this giveaway happen, so thank you very much hun ❤

But first, lemme do a review 😀

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge Review  (3)

If you’re familiar with the bulk of beauty sponges out there, chances are, you already know what this product does for your make up. If not, you’re in for a treat today. The Miracle Complexion Sponge is basically a sponge that blends your foundation for a smooth & enhanced finish. With this 3-in-1 multi-functional sponge, you can have a natural looking foundation base sans the dreaded brush lines.

If you’ve heard of the Beauty Blender sponge, this is probably the drugstore dupe for it. I haven’t used the Beauty Blender before, so I can’t offer much of a comparison, but they basically work the same way.

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge Review  (4)

The sponge is shaped somewhat like an orange egg, and is rather aesthetically pleasing to look at. I love the bright orange, its such a contrast to the boring dish-washing sponges I own, LOL!

miracle_complexi_523b15aa37edc

The egg shape is actually there for a special reason. The rounded sides blend large areas of the face with a repeated dabbing or “stippling” motion, the tip covers blemishes and imperfections, and the flat edge of the sponge is for the contours around the eyes and the nose.

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge Review  (6)

The sponge feels soft, but also very stiff as well. Okay, I know that doesn’t make sense, but what I mean is that the sponge is soft, but when you press it, it bounces back very solidly! In my head the sponge was going Boing Boing Boing!

The sponge is meant to be used damp, although there isn’t any actual instruction on the packaging. The sponge can be used dry if you want, but I simply run the sponge under a tap until the sponge is fully saturated, and then squeeze out all excess water until the sponge is damp. I then proceed to bounce, bounce, bounce the sponge on my face and apply the foundation as I go. The bouncy method gives off a sheer layer of foundation which looks absolutely natural. I sometimes use the sponge to blend out concealer too. For areas where I need more coverage, I simply apply a second layer of foundation using the precision tip and bounce all over again.

Once the sponge is damp, the sponge actually grows to double its size! As you can see in the picture below, the sponge is bigger after being wetted.

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge Review  (5)

How well does it work? As you can see par example below, my foundation has been fully blended and has disappeared into my skin. I think most foundations would come off as a sheer coverage using the Miracle Complexion Sponge considering how well it blends.

I love the fact that it blends the foundation so well, but I think the Miracle Complexion Sponge would work so much better with thicker foundation formulas as it would provide a more dense coverage than what I have below. I have rather okay skin, which means sheer coverage is all I need really, so the sheerness isn’t a big deal for me, but for thicker foundation formulas, this sponge is absolutely perfect ❤

Also, the Miracle Complexion Sponge provides that dewy look that we all love, and if you have dry patches of skin, you’ll be glad to know that the sponge eliminates any foundation clinging on to that unsightly patches! 

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge Review  (1)

Now comes the nitty-gritty part. Cleaning. How does one clean this sponge? I know hygiene is a constant issue when it comes to our make up tools, so don’t fret, I’ve got your back on this! I usually put the sponge into warm water, add some baby shampoo into the water,and squeeze the sponge repeatedly until the water runs clear. I do this a couple of days once and I haven’t seen an issue for the past month of using it. 

How long can the sponge last? To be honest, I have no clue, but from what I have read and researched about it, the sponge can last you at least 8-10 months, with constant, daily use. I think that’s rather inexpensive, considering one sponge only costs RM40!

Repurchase? Yes, definitely. For something so inexpensive, and works so well for me, why wouldn’t I? I foresee myself heading back to Bare Beauty Shop in about 6-7 months from now.

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge Review  (2)

And for the bit you’ve all been waiting for, the giveaway! Just submit your details via the Rafflecopter link below, and win your very own Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge ! This giveaway is international, so do join in 🙂

Click on the blue Rafflecopter link below and submit your details. The link will take you to the Rafflecopter site as WordPress has some limitations on embedding. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

That’s it for now! Join the international giveaway, win yourself an amazing gift, and enjoy your new-found friend. Happy winning! 🙂 Do check out Bare Beauty Shop on Instagram as they also stock item from E.L.F,  Eco Tools, Physicians Formula and obviously Real Techniques!

PS: If I hit the magic number 500 likes on Facebook, I might just throw in something from Stila for the winner ❤ Good luck!

Link: http://instagram.com/barebeautyshop

xoxo,
Shashay

58 thoughts on “[Review & Giveaway] Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

  1. I want to win the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge because sponges allow me to apply my foundation/BB cream a lot easier and it gives me a more flawless looking appearance. Plus, as someone with dry skin, working with a sponge helps to not aggravate any dry patches I have 🙂

  2. I hope to win a Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge because it blows BeautyBlender out of the water on several points. I have the Real Techniques Sponge on my Must-have list after seeing this review, and several YouTube demos of the RT Sponge vs BeautyBlender. There was NO contest. The Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge was just flawless and perfectly blended.

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

