Fun In The Sun With Kiehls @ Secret Garden 1Utama

Haroo awesomesauces!

If you remember my previous post on Kiehls, you’d know that I was vying for a spot to join them for a great day out and to also experience the newest addition to the Kiehls family tree, the Ultra Facial Oil-Free skin care range. I’m glad to report that I did indeed join them, and I had buckets load of fun on the day! I’ll recap what went down during the event, plus some of my quick thoughts on the Ultra Facial Oil-Free range.

A little about Kiehls first. If you weren’t aware, Kiehls has been around since 1851 (that’s about 160 years!) and was  founded as an old-world apothecary in New York’s East Village neighborhood.  Considering they’ve been around for so long, one does wonder how a brand has managed to stay as a top competitor in the market for so long?

It all boils down to their unique & extensive background that incorporates a blend of cosmetic, pharmaceutical, herbal, and medicinal knowledge developed and advanced through the generations. More about that below.

Kiehls

PS: All pictures moving forthwith does not belong to me and are the intellectual property of The Butterfly Project Malaysia.

The Kiehls event was organized at the Secret Garden in 1 Utama which is just absolutely gorgeous! It’s actually located at the rooftop, all you do is head on to the 1 Utama New Wing and take the Starbucks/Nando elevator right up to the roof! Easy peasy lemon squeezy 😀

Now when I say gorgeous, I mean it. I’m not a big nature person most times, so if I actually woke up long enough to notice the lush greenery and beautiful landscaping, you bet it’s rather jolly good. Pictures for your perusal below 🙂

Kiehls

Beautiful lanterns hanging down from the skies ❤

Ultra Facial Oil-Free

 Green everywhere! What a sight for sore eyes.

Ultra Facial Oil-Free 1

We were also introduced to Mr Bones from Kiehls, and he let me sign his head lol!

You can spot my signature right on his big ol forehead 🙂

Kiehls Skull

I wont detract from the main event which is to get to know the Ultra Facial Oil-Free range which has recently been revamped. If you are a fan of Kiehls, you would know that the newer range has already hit their stores!

The three items in the range include the Ultra Facial Oil-Free Cleanser, Toner and Gel Cream.

Kiehls Ultra Facial Oil Free

The star item of the range would obviously be the Gel Cream which is one of the bestsellers already. Its formulated to achieve the fine balance necessary to keep skin looking virtually shine-free for 24 hours, while also maintaining its essential moisture for a full 24 hours of fresh hydration. A quick word from the emcee for the day tells us a little more about the Ultra Facial Oil-Free range.

 The two main issues that this range tackles is 24 hour hydration and maintaining that fine line between shine and moisture. Most times, products that promise hydration = an oily & shiny complexion, and that is just rather ewww to me.

To measure my shine level, I took the shine test to figure out where I actually stood in the shine scale. Basically you just take the Kiehls shine testing thingamabobs and press onto your T-Zone or nose area.

 I landed in normal to dry with minor oil spots which was totally expected since my skin does fall onto the drier side of the scale.

Kiehls shine test

To solve what seems like a puzzle to both reduce shine and to hydrate at the same time, the gel cream formula contains moisture-replenishing Imperata Cylindrica Root Extract and Antarcticine to help skin retain moisture for a full 24 hours. When moisture is retained, skin will be more balanced, and have a reduced appearance of shine.

At this point I’m assuming most of you are going, Imperata Cylindrica Alohomora Sectumsempra Avada Kedavra what?? I know, I did too 😀

The Imperata Cylindrica is a plant that thrives in dry, excessively saline environments and is native to many of Earth’s deserts, but is especially prolific in the Australian Outback. The roots contain high concentrations of potassium which helps to provide an immediate and lasting hydrating effect. Remember when I was telling you about the Kiehls blend of cosmetic, pharmaceutical, herbal, and medicinal knowledge? Here it is.

And because Imperata Cylindrica is a form of cactus that thrives in the desert, all the bloggers had a chance to create their very own cactus terrarium to symbolize this! I was really excited for this activity since I was an avid cactus collector when I was younger. However my green thumbs apparently are not so green because most of them died of neglect and mum forbade me to keep any more plants 😦

pic

As you can see, mine is rather colourful (so was I) , and I haz a mushroom on it! Some of the other bloggers were really creative as you can see below.
Works of art I tell you!

cactus terrarium

Cactus terrarium

The other ingredient, Antarcticine, helps to provide superb protection against dryness, aids skin hydration providing it with a noticeably smoother appearance while shielding skin from external aggressors.  It further helps to protect the skin by facilitating skin’s retention of natural water reserves.  Its sourced from Antarctica and is a glycoprotein.

The Gel Cream also contains a bit of menthol to add that refreshing feel on the skin. The last ingredient is glycerin, which is rather obvious since it’s a humectant that attracts moisture and keeps skin feeling super hydrated.

Apart from hydration and no shine,what the Kiehls Ultra Facial Oil-Free range promises reduction in pore size since people with oily skin generally have larger pores compared to dry skin.

Kiehls Ultra Facial Oil Free

Gel Cream Description:  Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Oil-Free Gel Cream Fresh Hydration is allergy-tested, and formulated without parabens, silicones, fragrance, colorants, or oil. It is non-comedogenic, so it doesn’t clog pores. Moreover, doesn’t leave a residue once applied.

So enough of talking about the product description and whatnot, let’s get down to business (read: reviewing). I’ve been using the Kiehls Ultra Facial Oil-Free range for about 6 days now and let me throw this out there, skin care needs to be used for at least 28-35 days before one sees an actual difference on the skin, so this will just be my initial thoughts and feelings on the product, not a full on review. The review will come to yall in say, one months time?

Kiehls Ultra Facial Oil-Free Cleanser review

The Cleanser: The cleanser has  a thick cream like texture, and you only need a TEENY TINY bit for your whole face and neck. I’m talking maybe a 2cm long strip of cream and you are good to go. It lathers up very thickly, but it doesn’t bubble up. Wash your face as per usual, using your hands/Clarisonic/whatever contraption you prefer, and rinse off. I’d advise yall to avoid the eye area since this cleanser will sting a little.

Post rinse, skin is left feeling clean and refreshed, thanks to all that menthol. Personally, I think it leaves my skin tight-er and drier than I would prefer, and I think that’s because my skin is not as oily as the people this cleanser is intended for. I would have liked it if the cleanser didn’t have that squeaky clean feel, but for those of you with oily skin, you will love this!

Kiehls Ultra Facial Oil-Free Toner review

The Toner: The toner is very interesting. It comes in a large plastic bottle which I can appreciate because honestly glass bottles and a klutz like me do not go well together. The toner comes out with an opaque brown shade. Imagine a big glass of water, and you add in one single drop of brown water-colour and that would be the shade of this toner.

The scent, that’s where it gets interesting. To me, it smells like over-ripe fruit, specifically like over ripe jack fruit or “chempedak” (For those not familiar with this fruit, google Artocarpus Integer). I don’t know if my nose isn’t working, or my sense of scent is completely thrown off-balance, but that’s the scent I am reminded off. And I love the scent (probably because I love chempedak?) ! It doesn’t linger though, so if you don’t like the scent, no worries, it goes away. In a nutshell, I love smelling like over ripe fruit and I like this toner. 

I usually put a 20 cent sized puddle on my palms, warm it on my palms and pat onto my face. That’s something I learnt from Paris B, lol! It absorbs in about a minute or so, and the next step would be MOISTURIZE!

Kiehls Ultra Facial Oil-Free Gel Cream Review

The Gel Cream: The gel cream is the star product, and for a good reason. After the toner is absorbed, I usually take a pea sized dollop and spread onto my face and slowly rub it in. It absorbs and leaves my skin feeling rather velvety soft. The gel cream leaves a matte finish , and there is no residue of oil nor shine. It also feels really cool on my skin, (menthol again) which is such a blessing in the extremely hot weather we have been having lately. I can’t vouch for any hydration/smaller pore/shine free benefits at the moment since I just started using the range, but will keep you posted on what happens in a months time.

So far, the Toner & Gel Cream are looking like winners and I hope they knock me dead with their amazing results!

Wheww! That was a long post wasn’t it? Thank you so much for sticking with me right to the end, and do drop by your local Kiehls outlet for samples of the Ultra Facial Oil-Free range. Kiehls are really great with samples, trust me 🙂

The Ultra Facial Oil-Free range is available at all local Kiehls outlets. The Cleanser retails for RM85/150 ml, Toner RM 85/200 ml & the Gel Cream RM100/50 ml.

Do stay tuned for the full on review of the Kiehls Ultra Facial Oil-Free range coming your way soon!

To keep updated with The Butterfly Project & Kiehl’s , do click on the useful links below:

942177_532026436862588_1009642585_n
The Butterfly Project Malaysia Official FB Page: https://www.facebook.com/ButterflyProjectMalaysia 
Kiehls
Kiehl’s Official FB Page: https://www.facebook.com/KiehlsMalaysia

xoxo,
Shasha

23 thoughts on “Fun In The Sun With Kiehls @ Secret Garden 1Utama

  1. I have dry skin, so I’m guessing this might not be moisturizing or hydrating enough for me. Especially since its targeted towards those with normal to combination skin. Too bad though because I love gel moisturizers since they absorb so quickly!

  2. pea sized dollop of the gel cream is enough for the entire face? wow, so rich and spreadable! will love to try it out but kiehls is a little too pricey for me. 😦
    gig love

  3. I didn’t like the cleanser either. It is too stripping! Funny thing because I can fry an egg with all the oil I produce (daily) so IDK whom exactly is its target market…

  4. I spy my cacti! Anyway, lovely write-up, super-fast too.
    So nice to finally meet you but sorry that I didn’t have the time to have a proper chat.
    I was a tad gung-ho with the cleanser and ended up with a case of “My eyes! My eyes!” Wish I had read your review before I did that. My bad. It turns out that a tiny squirt about the size of a piece of long-grain rice does it for me.

  5. Pingback: [Review] Kiehls Calendula Deep Cleansing Foaming Face Wash | Shashay

  6. Pingback: [Review] b.liv Power Duos – Hydro Quench Booster | Shashay

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

