[Review] Kiehls Calendula Deep Cleansing Foaming Face Wash

Oh helooo there awesomesauces!

How have you been? It’s a public holiday here where I live here, so I’m rather enjoying my day in by blogging, doing household chores (how exciting!) and catching up on movies & all the TV series that I’ve missed. Work has been hectic (isn’t that always the case?) but that’s no legit excuse for me abandoning my blog. *le sigh*

Moving on, here is a product that I’ve been using recently (and by recent I mean a few months now) which I have been having a love hate relationship with.

Lets get acquainted with the Kiehls Calendula Deep Cleansing Foaming Face Wash ūüôā What a mouthful that is!

What it is, is a cleanser. Simple as that. Developed for normal to oily skin types, and contains the extracts from Calendula flowers. For those who wondering what Calendula flowers look like, here you go.

Pretty, no?

Calendula_officinalis_001

Product Description: 

This rich, gel formula activates with water to create a creamy, dense foam that gently removes impurities without stripping skin of its essential moisture.Formulated with Calendula Flower extract and glycerin, this deep cleansing face wash helps to soothe & replenish skin without over drying. Skin looks and feels instantly revitalized, revealing a fresher, brighter skin appearance without over drying. Soap free & Sulfate free.

Optimized-Kiehls Calendula Cleanser Review (3)

Back to why I have a love hate relationship with this cleanser.

The cleanser works for me, it doesn’t break me out, it leaves my skin feeling clean yet not stripped off moisture, and I only need a tiny little amount to lather up for my whole face. I simply love it!

BUT

The cleanser has an herbal scent which irks me to no end. Scents usually never bother me, so at first I thought it was just me being PMS-y. But weeks passed by and the scent¬†still bothered me. To be honest, it’s not an awful scent, it’s actually very herbal, and smells floral at the same time. But I cant seem to love the scent.

Other than the scent, I simply adore the cleanser, and have absolutely no complaints whatsoever. It even comes in a handy pump packaging which means I never over squeeze it and end up with a whole handful of cleanser in my palm. The cleanser texture is thick, just like how its described, a gel cleanser.

¬†Now, the cleanser is touted to be for normal to oily skin, I however have dry skin, and it worked¬†just as¬†well on my skin. A couple of things to note is that this cleanser doesn’t sting my eyes. If you recall my previous experience with the Kiehls Ultra Oil Free Cleanser, you’d know that one burnt my eyes ever so slightly.

This cleanser doesn’t contain any flower petal bits in it like its counterpart, the Calendula Herbal Extract Toner, and is a smooth gel which ¬†is¬†colourless, and the brownish colour that you see below is just the bottle.

Optimized-Kiehls Calendula Cleanser Review (2)

Ingredients: Aqua/Water, Sodium Cocoyl Glycinate, Coco-Betaine, Glycerin, Sodium Chloride, Acrylates/Steareth-20 Methacrylate Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Tetrasodium EDTA, Nepeta Cataria Oil, Citrus Limon Peel Oil/Lemon Peel Oil, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil, Limonene, Geraniol, Methylisothiazolinone, Citral, Citronellol, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Sodium Hydroxide, Citric Acid.

Optimized-Kiehls Calendula Cleanser Review (1)

To be honest, I’d recommend this cleanser to anyone who is looking for a simple cleanser that does its job, which is to clean your skin. It doesn’t promise to clear your acne, nor promise younger looking skin, etc. No fluff, no-nonsense, just a simple cleanser that cleans.

The only thing that I may advise you to do, is to give this a sniff first at your local Kiehls store, just in case you don’t fancy¬†the scent, like me. The cleanser costs MYR 105, which may be pricey at the first glance, but the bottle I’ve been using above has lasted me 3 months already, and is showing no signs of finishing anytime soon. Either I learnt a Refilling Spell, or this is worth the money spent!

In a nutshell, this is a great cleanser to have in your stash. Plus its soap free & sulphate free!

I’ll be blogging about another great cleanser I have come across¬†in the next few days, I hope.
Hint hint, the cleanser is green, ooohh!

For more information, useful links listed below:

Kiehls logo

Kiehl’s Malaysia Website:
www.kiehlstimes.com.my

Kiehls Malaysis Facebook Page:
https://www.facebook.com/KiehlsMalaysia

xoxo,
Shashay

 

One thought on “[Review] Kiehls Calendula Deep Cleansing Foaming Face Wash

  1. Pingback: [Review] b.liv Power Duos – Hydro Quench Booster | Shashay

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

