[Review] Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Radiant Light

*NB: This post has been sitting in my drafts for more than a month now, gosh! Have only gotten round to publishing it right now, so hallelujah to procrastination!

Haroo ladies & awesomesauces!

So you know how herd mentality dictates that you DEFINITELY ABSOLUTELY MUST buy a product that everyone & their grandmothers have been gibbering about?

I got caught with the herd and that’s exactly what I did. 🙂

I couldn’t help but to purchase the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Radiant Light (and another item from Hourglass which I shall review in due course) the moment I saw reviews and swatches going up online. Now, the thing is, Hourglass cosmetics isn’t available locally, and I could only buy them online without physically swatching or touching it. To buy something that costs USD45 (MYR 135) without ever seeing it (or touching it for that matter) was a gamble, surely, but it was a gamble that I must say paid off well. 

Now what you are seeing is an Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder that has been used fairly well, almost daily for the past 2 months or so I must admit, hence the dusty looking palette.

Optimized-Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review (2)

Product Description: The Hourglass Lighting Powders are  finishing powders that recreate the most exquisitely flattering light—from ethereal moonlight to luminous candlelight. Each powder captures, diffuses and softens surrounding light with groundbreaking photo-luminescent technology, just like having a personal lighting technician at your disposal.
 
By manipulating and filtering out harsh light, these powders conceal skin imperfections, pores and wrinkles. Its state-of-the-art formula delivers a multi-dimensional luminescence to every skin tone, making it appear softer, younger and perfectly lit. Their universal powders make them suitable for every skin tone, while each can be worn day and night. The finishing powders enhance skin in any type of light, including flash photography.
 
The powders come in 6 GORGEOUS shades by the way, and I picked Radiant Light only because I think it suited my tanner skin tone, and it looked like it could work as a highlighting powder as well.
 
 The Ambient Lighting Powders are also FREE OF : Parabens, Fragrance, Talc, Nanoparticles & Gluten. For those who are interested, Hourglass does not test on animals.
 
The 6 shades are as follows:
  • ETHEREAL LIGHT: An opalescent sheer, cool white powder that mimics a moonlit glow—even in broad daylight.
  • DIFFUSED LIGHT: A soft, warm, pale yellow powder that conceals redness and gives skin clarity—like a soft ray of morning light.
  • DIM LIGHT: A neutral peach beige powder that blurs imperfections and highlights a radiant complexion with the perfect balance of warm and cool tones.
  • MOOD LIGHT: A soft, sheer lavender pink powder that mimics the softest, most forgiving light and brightens the complexion.
  • LUMINOUS LIGHT: A champagne pearl powder that creates a soft, incandescent candlelit glow—day or night.
  • RADIANT LIGHT: A sun-kissed golden beige that enhances the overall complexion with believable, subtle warmth, and also extends a summer glow. [ Summer glow me all over already!]

Optimized-Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review (3)

The product comes in a plastic case, which kind of cheesed me off a little since the case looked like metal at first glance, and for that price, I should be getting something that feels a little more luxurious.  Anyway, I guess plastic makes sense so that the case is lighter (and so that butterfingers like me don’t break them)

Optimized-Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review (4)

In case you needed to know how the packaging looks like from every angle  🙂

Optimized-Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review (1)

Personal Thoughts:  The first time using the Ambient Lighting Powder, I was like meh, a powder that gives you an all over photo-shopped glow?  Upon first application, I was instantly gobsmacked!

I couldn’t believe how much better my skin looked. There was a slight blurring effect which made my skin look perfect, while it minimized my pores. This isn’t a setting powder though, so this goes on after your setting powder. The effect is more dewy than matte with a touch of pearl , and under direct sunlight, it makes my skin looks as if its been kissed my summer. It illuminates the face, and do I need to say more, really?

I usually place this powder on very lightly all over my face using a dense powder brush. You only need a little with a light hand as it goes a long way.The powder is build-able though in case you need more.

Now the breakdown, tanned skin, most of the 6 shades will work on you. Fair skinned girls may think some of the shades are too warm though.Darker skinned ladies might find that a few of the lighter colors will work as highlighters, but not all over the face.

It’s hard to capture the effect of these powders on face camera, and only a heavy swatch can accurately show the colour, so here, a very heavy swatch down my arm.

Optimized-Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review (5)

Lasting power wise, since it isn’t very obvious to begin with, fading is hardly noticeable. In our humid weather, I find it lasts about 3-4  hours before I need to re-apply. I also do have dry skin, so this applies perfectly as a slight dusting on my skin, however for anyone with oily skin, don’t expect this to mattify your face.

 The ingredient list.

Optimized-Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review (6)

I absolutely adore this powder,  and I may need a couple of shades more in my stash. However this isn’t something which is a must have for everyone, more of a want item. The price tag of USD 45 is certainly hefty  enough for one to stop & think more than once. I’d suggest really thinking about think before buying it, and if you have a chance to swatch of somewhere, please do, since you need a good match to your skin. 

Hourglass is still not available in Malaysia, though it is available online through SpaceNK or Net-A-Porter though prices vary noticeably. Sephora USA still carries them at the cheapest price of USD 45. 

Personally, I love love love the Ambient Lighting Powders, and I will definitely getting more and more of it. I’ll be reviewing their blushes & lipsticks sometime soon, so do stay tuned! Hope you lot are having a better week than I am , and may the rest of your weekend be brilliant!

Hourglass logo
www.hourglasscosmetics.com/
https://www.facebook.com/Hourglasscosmetics

xoxo,
Shashay

4 thoughts on “[Review] Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Radiant Light

  1. This sounds amazing! I think I’ll get the same shade as you to give my complexion a warm glo in winter. I got a CC cream which promised a similar thing but it made my face look so dewy it looked almost greasy, so I’m chufed this is a powder.

  2. Pingback: [Review] Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick in Icon | Shashay

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

