[Review] Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick in Icon

Hello mah awesomesauces!

I have another Hourglass item to review today, so I’m just going to get into it. I got this off Sephora about a few months ago, the same time I got my  Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder. (which is amazing btw) Now I generally put in a bit of research before buying any sort of makeup, and  based on reviews I’ve read on the Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick was a bit of a 50/50. Some loved it to bits, while others, not so much.

Available in 9 beautiful shades ranging from pinks, to reds, corals & beige’s, these liquid lipsticks claim to be richly pigmented, silky smooth and has a velvety matte lip color that delivers extended wear without flaking or dryness.

As a first purchase, I decided to go with a safe red, in the shade Icon, a true, classic red. It contains 3g of product, and is made in the USA. As all Hourglass products are, the Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipsticks are free of parabens, sulfates & not tested on animals.

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Review Icon (5)

The product comes with a tiny doe foot applicator which makes application super easy. The applicator is somewhat like the Nyx Xtreme Shine Lip Creams.

Product Description:

  • Densely pigmented, silky smooth and lightweight formula glides on without tackiness, and sets to a modern matte finish.
  • Opaque coverage creates bold, vibrant and dramatic-looking lips.
  • Contains a breathable film of intense pigment that instantly bonds to the lips and treats them with skin-conditioning emollients, fruit extracts and vitamins: Cili Fruit and Goji Berry extracts offer anti-oxidant protection
    Vitamins A, C and E nourish and protect lips throughout the day.

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Review Icon (4)

Packaging wise, the tube is tiny, really. It literally is as small as my palm, and I already have relatively small hands. For USD 28, I’d expect more product to be honest. The tube itself is plastic, made to look like gunmetal, similar to the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Packaging. The tube twists up to reveal the product and applicator, and twists down with a very satisfying click at the close.

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Review Icon (1)

Personal Thoughts:  The lipstick is definitely richly pigmented, I cant argue that. One swipe and I was in love! The product glided on so smoothly, and dried within a minute to a velvet powdery finish. There was no tackiness whatsoever associated with liquid lipsticks, the matte finish was not drying to my lips at all. I can’t vouch for the skin-conditioning emollients or anti-oxidant protection since this is a lipstick I whip out very occasionally for date nights, or a special event.

One thing I do love about the Opaque Rouge range is the fact that it doesn’t transfer to clothing or to skin easily. I wear red lips a lot, and alot of times, I have to be super super careful when I’m putting on, or taking off my clothes so that I don’t stain my clothes red. Also, I love giving the random peck on the cheek to le jaan when we’re out, and I am almost never able to with a regular red lip. With this product? I think I can have a full make-out session and the colour wont budge, lol!

Cons: Just 1. After say 6 hours, the colour flakes off a bit, and when I reapply, my lips end up looking like I have too much product on, and even feels a little lumpy. I’ve experimented a bit, and the only way to get a proper application is to apply one THIN layer, and don’t reapply the whole day. If I experience flakiness, I go over it with a lipstick/lip cream/lip gloss of another shade. I cant figure out a better way around it, unless you’re okay to remove the whole lip colour, and start from scratch. (ain’t nobody got time fer dat!)

Here are some shades for comparison. All colours have been swatched once down my arm.

From left : Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick in Icon, Too Faced Melted Liquefied Lipstick in Ruby, Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in Amsterdam, Topshop Lip Paint in Tallulah, & Nars Audacious Lipstick in Carmen.

Icon definitely stands out looking very matte and darker in shade compared to Tallulah or Ruby. Matte-ness wise, Icon is more matte than the Nyx SMLC, though I feel that the Nyx SMLC is more moisturizing.

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Review Icon

Ingredient list: Isododecane, Bis-Hydroxylauryl Dimethicone/Dpi Copolymer, Tridecyl Trimellitate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dicalcium Phosphate, Silica, Alumina, Isoceteth-10, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Lycium Barbarum Fruit Extract, Rosa Roxburghi Fruit Extract, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Red 7 Lake (Ci 15850). May Contain (+/-): Red 6 (Ci 15850), Mica (Ci 77019), Yellow 5 Lake (Ci 19140), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, 77492, 77499), Red 28 Lake (Ci 45410), Blue 1 Lake (Ci 42090).

And here is a pic of me wearing the colour on one of my dates with le jaan, lol! I just took this picture off Instagram, so do excuse the filters.

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Review Icon (3)

To sum the product up, if you have the extra budget for a luxury item, do give the Hourglass Opaque Rouge a shot. They have amazing pigmentation, apply easily, and the colour stays on almost all day. The only annoying thing is the flakiness issue that I’ve mentioned above, which you can definitely work around. I’ve actually went ahead and repurchased another shade recently, which I’ll talk about soon!

Have a great remaining weekend ❤

Price : USD 28
Availability: Sephora USA (sorry Malaysia, we still don’t have this brand in yet)

For more info:

Hourglass logo

www.hourglasscosmetics.com/
https://www.facebook.com/Hourglasscosmetics

xoxo,
Shashay

4 thoughts on “[Review] Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick in Icon

  1. Hi hon, you’ve just given me another reason to shop at Sephora, these look sooo highly pigmented and the fact it lasts six hoursI love the “Ain’t no one got time fer dat” comment – that’s how I feel about reapplying makeup when I could be having fun. Do they do any beige/brown dusky pink shades?

  2. Hourglass is for the most part a lovely brand but for the pesky fact that it’s so hard to buy from here and the price when we can get it. I have a few of their ambient powders and a primer but haven’t tried the lip products yet.
    Thanks for the comparison swatches and to be honest, I realise that the others beside it aren’t too shabby at all. In fact, budget brand NYX is holding its own beside the others quite nicely there so in a bid to be a smart shopper, I’m not going to shy away from NYX. Hourglass shall have to resolve that flaking issue before I can commit. I’m not impressed by that at all so thanks for saving me the trouble of needing to go to the moon and back for it.

  3. Pingback: [Review] Sephora Cream Lip Stain in 03 Strawberry Kiss | Shashay

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

