[Review] Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick in Frambourjoise

Haroo mah awesomesauces!

I’m super excited to do this review, mainly cos I’ve been waiting for this item to come into Bourjois Malaysia since they launched locally! The waiting finally paid off, cos it’s here! It’s here! The Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick is here! ❤ The first day I knew it was in, I quickly dropped by Sunway Pyramid to get my hands on it, and to swatch every single shade known to mankind, lol!

Just a bit of background story first just for fun. I went over to the Bourjois kiosk in Sunway Pyramid on the launch day to purchase them, but apparently they were not in yet. The pioneer stock was only coming in the next week. Only testers were available so that people could pre-book them. (I wonder why though?) My heart sank ever so slightly, so I dropped my name & number to the SA and told her to give me a ring when they were in (which she did btw, so kudos to customer service being alive!).

Took a walk around the mall to easy my poor soul, and lo & behold, the whole complete range of Rouge Edition Velvet Lipsticks was available at Watsons Sunway Pyramid!! Bourjois Malaysia, why you no communicate things internally clearly and confuse poor customers like me? 😦

Anyway I got myself the Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick in Frambourjoise, and only one because I wanted to give the products a proper go before deciding if I wanted any other shades so I went with a safe pink.

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Review (2)

The Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick in Frambourjoise at a first glance, looks like a pink shade with slight hints of red. I think this colour is super suitable for day & work wear! The product itself comes nicely packaged in a see-through tube, and the shade inside is clearly visible. The doe-foot sponge that comes with the applicator seems convenient, but honestly, I found that it picks up way too much product, and the application isn’t as smooth as I wished it was. I usually use my lip brush to outline, and my fingers to blend instead.

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Review (7)

Product Description:  

  • Matte finish and incredibly light.
  • Bold colour
  • Flawless hold
  • Rouge Edition Velvet lasts 24 hours, no need for constant touch-ups!

Rouge Edition Velvet by Bourjois is the new era of lipsticks. An amazing, irresistible formula. It’s soft, melting texture glides on to the lips and turns into a matte, velvety and incredibly light colour. Lips are left smooth and soft as velvet. Enriched with evanescent oils, it’s incredibly sensuous formula provides a soft, second-skin feel, without drying or fading lips.

Rouge Edition Velvet shades are true “colour shots” with a chic matte finish! Thanks to the formula being saturated with pure pigments, each shade perfectly covers lips with bold, very intense colour. An ultra-fashionable result, straight from the catwalk! The texture of the lipstick is undetectable after application. The lipstick is comfortable to wear all day long.

With its transparent bottle and shade-tinted cap, the Rouge edition lipstick is a must-have fashion accessory to show off! Its slant foam applicator makes application precise and easy, delivering just the right amount of formula.

Pic below credited to Pen My Blog

Bourjois Velvet

The Rouge Edition Velvet comes in 8 gorgeous shades.
From left: Personne Ne Rouge, Frambourjoise, Hot Pepper, Peach Club, Ole Flamingo, Pink Pong, Nude-ist & Grand Cru.

I was initially torn between Ole Flamingo, Frambourjoise & Grand Cru, but since I had my Too Faced Melted Liquefied Lipstick in Candy & Ruby, and those two shades are almost similar, I decided to go with Frambourjoise instead. Also taking into account the fact that all the testers for Grand Cru were clumpy. (manufacturing defect or is the product formulation bad?)

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Review (6)

Personal Thoughts: Personally, I’m on the fence with these lipsticks. I cant say I hate them, but I certainly havent fallen head over heels with them. To name a few things that irk me, the scent of the product is a strong pungent chemical scent (granted it does dissapear in a short while), but I still don’t like the things that I put on my face to smell as such. The colours are also just a teensy weensy bit opaque for me, so not a fan. I prefer my lipsticks to ooze pigmentation!

Things that I like? The fact that they stay on literally forever. I can eat, sleep, jump of a building, and these lippies stay on, the whole effing day! I have almost never retouched up my lip colour when using this product. My lips are so smooth and feel as soft as velvet. On the plus side, they don’t dry out my lips, ever!

Price wise, the Bourjois SA mentioned that these lippies retail for RM49, but they were sold at Watsons for RM39.80 instead. So poor me is left feeling confused again.

Here is me wearing the Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick in Frambourjoise. The colour pay off is great, no?

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Review (8)

For those interested in the ingredients.

Ingredients: Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Butyl Acrylate/Hydroxypropyl Dimethicone Acrylate Copolymer, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Silica, Parfum (Fragrance), Limolene. [+/- (May Contain) : CI 45410 (Red 28 Lake), CI 15850 (Red 7 Lake), Mica, CI 73360 (Red 30 Lake), CI 19140 (Yellow 5 Lake), CI 12085 (Red 36), CI 15850 (Red 6), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 15985 (Yellow 6 Lake), CI 17200 (Red 33 Lake), CI 42090 (Blue 1 Lake), CI 45380 (Red 22 Lake), CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 75470 (Carmine), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), CI 77742 (Manganese Violet)]. 13BML001-1

Personally, this isn’t the best lippie out there, but if you’re looking for something moderately cheap and will last a long time on your lips, this will work. I would go get myself another shade, but I’m currently saving up for some high-end foundations that I have my eye on, so not yet. The next shade I’d want is probably Nude-ist or Personne Ne Rouge. 

RRP: 39.80 (at Watsons)

bourjois logo 

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/bourjoismy
Instagram Page: http://instagram.com/BourjoisMY

Bourjois products are currently available in Malaysia at selected Watsons stores in Klang Valley with a standalone kiosk located at Sunway Pyramid (Look out for it at the LG Floor)

xoxo,
Shashay

9 thoughts on “[Review] Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick in Frambourjoise

  1. i’ve always wondered about this range and why no one has reviewed them yet now i get it 🙂 they look great though i mean I would probably get them for the staying power alone but it’s a tiny bit more expensive when compared to let’s say soft matte lip cream from nyx. Does it fare better or worse when compared to other lipsticks of its kind like smlc nyx or the sephora lip matte creme?

    • Hi Ailany,
      If you’re looking for staying power, then these are fabulous! But if I were to compare this with the SMLC, I actually like the SMLC better, mostly because they smell like cupcakes ❤
      Quality wise, they're both equally good!
      As for the Sephora Matte Lip Creme, I haven't tried them myself. I've only swatched them at the store, so I wont be able to give a proper review. Will update you when I get my hands on it! 🙂

  2. Pingback: [Review] Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick in Grand Cru & Ole Flamingo | Shashay

  3. Pingback: [Review] Bourjois Rouge Edition Aqua Laque Lipsticks | Shashay

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

