[Review] Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in Amsterdam & 200th Post Excitement!

200th Post!!! I cant believe I’ve actually written 200 legible, decent posts for the world to view, judge & read ❤  *Pats on my back* I promise to write more posts and to try & blog more frequently. Amen.

It seems that one person can’t get enough of lippies, and I’ll be the first to admit that I’m utterly obsessed with lipsticks, lip glosses & everything lip related in this world. Considering this is my third lip product review in a row for the past week, I can safely I’m an official lip addict now.

Nyx has been one of the more affordable brands available at Sephora, and the quality can rival any proper luxury brand. I’ve reviewed a couple of things from them, like the Shimmer Powders, eyeliners, liquid lipsticks, etc. I was never very keen on the Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams so much, and despite all the raves, I steered clear from them.

I guess I finally caved in to the reviews, and so I bought the reddest of the lot for myself. The Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams are available in 22 shades which you can check out here. Amsterdam, which is the one I have here is described as a true red, though on this camera & lighting it pictures as a slightly coral tone, weirdly enough.

Review Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream (5)

The packaging is pretty straightforward, a twist tube with a doe foot applicator which does the job of application decently. There is 8ml of product in the tube, which personally lasted me all of 2 months. Yeap, I have officially hit tube on this, and I’ll tell you why in a bit ! 🙂

Product Description: Neither lipstick nor lip gloss, this matte lip cream is a new kind of lip color that goes on silky smooth and sets to a matte finish. Soft Matte Lip Cream is surprisingly durable and, unlike some matte lipstick formulas, also moisturizing. It is a highly pigmented, matte lip cream that allows you yo creates various matte lip looks & we love it for being delightfully creamy and lightweight.

Review Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream (3)

The lip cream does indeed dry to a matte finish, and I assure you, it is the least drying sort of matte you can ever get your hands on. Its so smooth, creamy, & soft! They stay on for 4-5 hours, and even after eating, drinking & gossiping, they leave your lips a beautifully stained.

And the most important reason why I love these? They smell like EFFING CUPCAKES! Imagine lacing your lips with a lipstick that smells like cake batter, cupcake frosting & melted butter, all at the same time. A swipe of the SMLC is all the dessert you need for the day. I confess to also occasionally, randomly opening the tube of SMLC during the day just to catch a whiff of the cupcake scent. And it has helped me with my sugar cravings too, lol! Everytime I feel like eating a bar of chocolate, I take a sniff of this instead! 

That will explain how I’ve hit bottom on this tube of lip cream. I already have a backup of it, plus a couple of other shades as well, you know, just in case. 😉

The scent does disappear after a while (le sigh), so for those of you who don’t feel like cupcakes (how could you not though??), not to fret, no scent is noticeable after 10 minutes or so.

Swatches of my veins for your viewing pleasure.

Review Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream (4)

Ingredients: Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Dimethicone,Beeswax, Glyceryl Behenate / Eicosadioate, Phenoxyethanol, Dimethicone /Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Talc, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Silica, Aluminium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Isohexadecane,Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Parfum. May Contain:CI77019 (Mica) / CI77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI15850 (D&C Red 6 Na.Salt), CI15850 (D&C Red 7 Ca Lake), CI15985:1 (FD&C Yellow 6 AlLake), CI19140:1 (FD&C Yellow 5 Al Lake), CI45410 (D&C Red 28 AlLake), CI77491 (Iron Oxide Red), CI77492 (Iron Oxide Yellow), CI77499(Iron Oxide Black), CI77742 (Manganese Violet), CI77891 (TitaniumDioxide).

How it looks on moi. ❤

Review Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream (7)

The Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams retail at RM26 at all local Sephora outlets, but do remember that the SMLC’s sell out like hot cakes, literally, so if you see it in stock somewhere, and you wondering if you should come back to get it, don’t. Just take this baby home, ASAP. You wont regret it.

Closing thoughts from me? I love this, and I will never, ever, say no to a Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream, ever again. And I solemnly swear to buy the whole range of shades for my personal pleasure. 

Mischief Managed.

PS: Sorry if this post seems a little cheeky & nonsensical, I’m feeling slightly high on life today. Plus I’m on some meds, so that may have contributed to the high, haha.
Ok, Bye. (Please sing in Frozen tune for optimum humour)

xoxo,
Shashay

9 thoughts on “[Review] Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in Amsterdam & 200th Post Excitement!

  1. Pingback: [Review] Shizens Lip Tattoo | Shashay

  2. Pingback: [Review] Sephora Cream Lip Stain in 03 Strawberry Kiss | Shashay

  3. “It seems that one person can’t get enough of lippies, and I’ll be the first to admit that I’m utterly obsessed with lipsticks, lip glosses & everything lip related in this world. Considering this is my third lip product review in a row for the past week, I can safely I’m an official lip addict now.”

    Literally ME! I could never get enough of any lip products. Oh and not forgetting the lip balms too, gotta have one in my room, handbag and at the office (also few lipsticks thrown in the cubicle’s drawer a.k.a my mini vanity).

    And I seriously need this Nyx SMLC so bad!

  4. Pingback: [Review] Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in San Paulo, Monte Carlo & Copenhagen | Shashay

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

