[Review] Em Cosmetics Scribble Calligraphy Liquid Liner

Hey gorgeous people!

Yes, fiinally a review on Em Cosmetics! I’ve been meaning to post up this review for a while, but goodness, work is just making me feel so drained. By the time I get home, I just feel like sleeping my way through the night, or binge watching Netflix. I need a holiday asap! ūüė¶

Anywhoo, let’s get into the review. Now I got myself some Em Cosmetics products through Michelle Phan’s official site and my friend Shiv helped me with the shipping. Shipping costed me a bomb, which means I’m never buying anything from Em Cosmetics ever again, unless I ever go to the States myself and get them in-store. ¬†I got another product too, which I’ll review soon.

I got myself the Em¬†Cosmetics Scribble Calligraphy Liquid Liner in the shade Tattoo Black. I went for black since it’s the colour I use the most on a daily basis, and one simply CANNOT go wrong with black. ūüėÄ

[Review] Em Cosmetics Scribble Liner (3)

Product Description: Inspired by the girl who likes to speak with her eyes. Draw your most intense matte line with the unique calligraphy tip: from micro-fine to thick cat-eye. Glides on with rich color and dries to a sultry, powdery-matte finish precision line application. This eyeliner is the perfect tool to sketch a thin line for subtle definition or draw your most intense matte line. Either way, you can easily control the intensity with this unique calligraphy tip.!

Em tip: a stroke of genius‚ÄĒdefine your eyes without the shine.

Initial thoughts while un-boxing the product went from excitement to mild disappointment to delight. I liked the design of the packaging, with the chrome tip, and its monochrome look. Lovely design aside, it feels slightly cheap due to its light plastic packaging. Twisting the cap of the liner open reveals a very fine tip which I really really like! The handle is really slim, but is really long, which makes application difficult to be truthful. 

[Review] Em Cosmetics Scribble Liner (2)

Ingredients: Water , Acrylates/Octylacrylamide Copolymer, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Glycerin, Stearic Acid, Beeswax, Cire De Candelilla, Disodium Edta, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Cetyl Alcohol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Ozokerite, Silica, Sodium Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Copernicia Cerifera Cera / Carnauba Wax /, Cire De Carnauba, Isohexadecane, Sodium Hydroxide, Methylparaben, Hectorite, Xanthan Gum, Tocopherol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Tocopheryl Acetate, Cellulose, Tin Oxide, Polysorbate 80, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben

[Review] Em Cosmetics Scribble Liner (1)

Personal Thoughts: A swatch of the lipstick on my henna-ed hands. Hahaha I think this was during my cousin’s wedding, hence the henna design. The liner swatches absolute super matte, and is very pigmented, just the way I like them. It dries very quickly on the lids to boot. The formula is very watery, liquidy & runny, but the finish is just gorgeous. I’ve been using this eyeliner for a while and I love the fact that the tip¬†is so thin, and I can draw a super thin, or super thick line when I choose¬†to. The only thing is, I find that the brush tip may be too long, so sometimes I end up completely screwing up my line. :/

Application wise, it lasts on me for a 5-6 hours, but it smudges soon after. I really don’t like that. I’m not sure if it’s because I rub my eyes too often especially when¬†I’m stressed, or its the liner¬†itself. Either way, eyeliners SHOULD NOT smudge.¬†

The rest of the shades available in the range. I gotta say, I love how Teal Sketch & Guilded Gold looks like!
Pic via Em Cosmetics

Em Cosmetics Scribble Liner Swatch

Here’s how it looks on me ūüôā

Em Cosmetic Scribble Eyeliner Review

To sum things up, the eyeliner packaging could be so much better, and Michelle Phan could really work on those smudging issues. Though the liner is pigmented, and dries perfectly matte, I really can’t say I love it very much. So the Scribble Liner not a great buy in my books, and nor will I be recommending it to you guys. And considering Em Cosmetics isn’t even available in Malaysia, you guys are not missing out on much. I honestly can’t see what they hype is all about. I’d rather spend my money¬†on other cosmetic brands.

For more information on Em Cosmetics, click on the links below:

Em Cosmetics Logo

Website: emcosmetics.com

The Em Cosmetics Scribble Calligraphy Liquid Liner retails for USD18/1.7ml, and is available on the official Em Cosmetics site.

xoxo,
Shashay

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

