[Review] Sephora Cream Lip Stain in 03 Strawberry Kiss

Haloo my peeps!

I’ve been on a slight spree recently, hauling makeup, clothing & random stuff before the price increases post GST, 1st April. 6% is no joke yo.

So along with a bunch of other stuff, I hauled the Sephora Cream Lip Stain in the shade 03 Strawberry Kiss. I wanted a few other shades too, but they were sold out, or either the testers had dried up. Yuck. Sephora, Y U NO put new testers? Anyways, I love my red lipsticks and I’m pretty sure you guys must know it by now, but recently I’ve been picking up more pinks, purples & nudes for some reason. I like nude shades since they’re so work friendly, while purples for a night out just screams crazy rave party, and pinks just wanna have fun! Think Cyndi Lauper, lol!

Back to the Cream Lip Stain, as you may remember, I mentioned this product my Zalora Wishlist post. And I finally got it ❤ Ticking one item of the list, and now to tick off the next bazillion items on that list.

Sephora Cream Lip Stain Strawberry Kiss Review (1)

Product Description: A lip stain that provides beautiful, long-lasting color. This high-coverage lip product features avocado oil for a texture that transforms as you wear it: when applied, the initial cream texture becomes a silky, lightweight stain. Lips achieve stunning color and feel soft and comfortable.  Available in an array of rich shades, including both matte and satin finishes, with intense color that stays put.

Apparently this cream lip stain contains avocado oil that provides comfort and nutrition for lips, & also vitamin E that provides antioxidant properties. The lip stain is a combination of resins and jellifying agents that guarantee a no-transfer film for long term wear.

Strawberry Kiss is a matte bright pinky red, and dries to an absolute matte finish, which means it can be quite drying, so I usually layer a little lip balm before application. Packaging is your standard slim tube, doe foot tip, and the tip really helps with outlining and defining your lip shape. I’d recommend just using the doe foot tip instead of a brush for application, as the lippie dries to matte perfection within almost seconds.

Here’s a swatch of the lip stain. It dries matte as anything as you can see, and the vibrant pink is just absolutely gorgeous.

Sephora Cream Lip Stain Strawberry Kiss Review (2)

Ingredients: Isododecane, Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Polybutene, Petrolatum, Cyclohexasiloxane, Kaolin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Aroma (Flavor), Glyceryl Behenate/Eicosadioate, Propylene Carbonate, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Tocopherol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Benzyl Alcohol. May or may not contain (+/-): Mica, CI 15850 (Red 7 Lake), CI 19140 (Yellow 5 Lake), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 15850 (Red 6), CI 42090 (Blue 1 Lake), CI 75470 (Carmine).

Personal thoughts: This is a decent lip cream, and definitely a much cheaper option that the Hourglass Opaque Rouges, though slightly pricier than the Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams. Quality wise, I would rate it a 6 on a scale of 10. It does give off a beautiful colour & stain, and lasts all day for almost 8-9 hours, withstanding oily food and such, but it does settle into my lines, and sometimes makes my lips look dry and chapped, though I don’t feel like my lips are dry at the time. And this is with a luscious coat of lip balm, mind you! I guess most matte lippies do that to you, but this one more so than the others. 

One thing that I do like about it is its scent. It smells vanilla-ish, leaning towards a butter cream frosting scent which I just love! Some people say it smells plastic-y, but I don’t smell plastic one bit. Is my nose not working then? #VeryCurious

Here’s how it looks on me. I absolutely love the pop of bright pink on my lips! And I’m wearing it together with the Clinique Cheek Pop Blush 🙂

Sephora Cream Lip Stain Strawberry Kiss Review (3)

Long story short, if you’d like a matte lip cream which doesn’t cost a bomb, you could give these a go. However, the NYX SMLC’s are much much better in terms of quality, and are way cheaper too. Now if only they were ever in stock at the Sephora outlets here, that would make my life a much better place. The colour selection in the Sephora lip cream range is quite good too, with a whole range of pink, nudes, purples, reds and oranges, so the variety aspect is certainly covered. Repurchase from my end? Maybe I’ll pick up the red shade, just because I need all the reds I can find in my life, but other than that, maybe not.

Give it a go yourself, and tell me if you like it. Or have you tried this, and loved it more than I did?

Sephora Logo

https://www.facebook.com/SephoraMalaysia

The Sephora Cream Lip Stain retails for RM54/5ml at local Sephora outlets, and at Zalora Malaysia.

xoxo,
Shashay

One thought on “[Review] Sephora Cream Lip Stain in 03 Strawberry Kiss

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

