[Review] Holy Grail Alert! Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation Is All That

I love foundations. I cant explain it, but every-time I put on my foundation, I just feel happier. Do you guys get that feeling too? ūüėÄ Anyway, I’ve been slowly trying to build up my foundation collection, which is tricky business to be frank, since I’m rather picky about them. Some are too thick, too oily, too dry, you get the gist of things. So far, I’ve been liking the Dior¬†Star Fluid Foundation, and I’ve also been loving the¬†Guerlain Lingerie de Peau as well. Remind me to do a review on those two yeah? ūüôā The next foundation on my to buy list will be the Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk, so I cant wait for that, wheee!!

What I do have today, is the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation. I picked this up when Bourjois first landed in Malaysia, which was what, more than half a year ago? Considering I’ve used this foundation for a while now, so I’d like to tell you guys what I think about it, though I think the title says it all. Holy Grail is what it is!

Optimized-Bourjois Healthy Mix Gel Foundation Review (1)

Product Description: Give your skin a radiance boost with Bourjois’ Healthy Mix Serum Gel foundation made from a vitamin-rich fruit therapy formula for an even complexion and an instant anti-fatigue result! Its fresh and instant blending gel texture blends and glides onto the skin for an even, natural finish with no mask effect. Imperfections are erased, signs of fatigue are smoothed and the skin’s radiance is boosted for up to 16 hours. Made from an instant anti-fatigue vitamin-rich fruit therapy formula with lychee, goji berries and pomegranates. Available in 5 radiance-boosting shades. Hypoallergenic, so it allows skin to breathe. Dermatologically tested.

As usual, I bought this from Bourjois after my¬†online research unearthed amazing raves for it. There is a sister version to this foundation, which is the Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation which is also somewhere in my stash. The Healthy Mix Serum (HMS) , compared to the Healthy Mix Foundation differs only in coverage & texture I would say. Alas, that’s a comparison review for another day!

Optimized-Bourjois Healthy Mix Gel Foundation Review (2)

I am in the shade 55, which is the darkest shade in the range. I must say, if you’re any darker than my skin tone, you’d be hard pressed to find a foundation within the Bourjois brand. As usual, the drugstore brands rarely carry nor cater to those with darker skin, save Revlon I would say. For the HMS, I think we get the shades in #51, #52, #53, #54 & #55 locally.

Packaging wise, it comes in a super slim glass bottle with a red cap on it, which looks practical yet classy. The foundation is dispensed via a pump, which can get pretty messy for me personally, so I give it a good wipe down every few uses or so. The bottle contains 30 ml of product, so this is going to last me a while.

Optimized-Bourjois Healthy Mix Gel Foundation Review (3)

The HMS foundation is a very light sort of foundation, and has light coverage¬†as well. Its one of those foundations where you look natural, but better.¬†The foundation is buildable, but I’ve never seen the need to since one layer has always been¬†more than enough. You only need half a pump to 1 full pump to cover your entire face, and trust me, a little does go a long way with this foundation. I apply this with my Zoeva Silk Finish brush, and blend all over.¬†It sinks into my skin¬†making¬†me look all dewy and glowy for all of 8-10 hours.¬†The texture of the foundation is not matte, fyi. But even though it doesn’t dry matte, it wont¬†leave you looking like an oily mess.¬†Some of the other things that I’ve noticed is that doesnt settle into fine lines, doesn’t oxidize, make my skin feel oily nor dry. Its really awesomesauce!

Scent wise, it has the loveliest fruity scent imaginable, which I attribute to¬†its fruit rich ingredients,¬†containing¬†lychee, goji berries and pomegranates. Some people don’t fancy the scent, but I really do! Its actually a bit sad that the scent fades off after application.

Optimized-Bourjois Healthy Mix Gel Foundation Review (4)

Ingredients: Aqua (water), Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Aluminium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Chloride, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alcohol Denat, Parfum (fragrance), Panthenol, Aluminium Hydroxide, Litchi Chinensis Pericarp Extract, Silica, Lycium Barbarum Fruit Extract, Pantolactone, Punica Granatum Extract, Potassium Sorbate, Sorbic Acid [+/- May contain: CI 77007 (ultramarines), CI 77019 (mica), CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI77891 (titanium dioxide)] 10BMT001-1

Here’s a quick swatch for you guys. The HMS foundation in #55 is pretty neutral toned, and works well with my yellow undertones. Once blended, it¬†disappears into my skin.

Optimized-Bourjois Healthy Mix Gel Foundation Review (5)

This is how it looks on me ūüôā Its not a world of a difference, but in person, the effect is subtle enough to not be noticeable, but still enough for people to go, “hey, your skin looks amazing!” ‚̧

Optimized-Before & After Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation

I love love love this foundation, and I have nothing but praises to sing for this foundation. I really need to buy a spare bottle since the current one I have is almost 3/4 empty now. So go forth and give this foundation a go! 

What is YOUR favourite foundation? Have you tried this foundation before?

bourjois logo

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/bourjoismy
Instagram Page: http://instagram.com/BourjoisMY

The Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation retails for RM57.90/30ml at local Bourjois outlets.

Bourjois products are currently available in Malaysia at selected Watsons stores in Klang Valley with a standalone kiosk located at Sunway Pyramid (Look out for it at the LG Floor)

xoxo,
Shashay

One thought on “[Review] Holy Grail Alert! Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation Is All That

  1. Pingback: Review : Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation Review – 8 | Shashay

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

