[Review] Bourjois Rouge Edition Aqua Laque Lipsticks

Hey guys,

How have you been? Hope April has been good to you guys! 🙂 Personally, its been a really tiring month, physically & emotionally. Life has been going like a ship on a rocky wave, and sometimes I feel like it’s going to throw me off anytime. Oh well. With May comes spring, and I’m sure things will be much better then.

And speaking of better things coming my way, these landed in my mailbox recently. These are the newly launched Bourjois Rouge Edition Aqua Laque Lipsticks. Now if you recall, I reviewed their predecessors, the Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipsticks here and here. Those were matte liquid lipsticks, and I love them very very much ❤ I have 4 of the 8 shades for the velvet versions, and I plan to collect all 8 at some point when they’re in stock at the local Bourjois outlet.

Now these Aqua Laque’s are supposed to be a hybrid lipstick which breaks all the rules of the lipstick rule book. Intriguing, I must admit. Lets see how well it fares. 😀

Optimized-Review Bourjois Aqua Laque  (1)

What it is: A lipstick that combines a high concentration of water and Nymphea extract which has great moisturizing ability up to 10 hours, & contains all the elements necessary to achieve a light and extremely refreshing texture. There are 8 shades available in this range.

Lets talk packaging first. It’s almost identical to the Rouge Edition Velvets, except that the cap of the lipstick is metallic, chromic, shiny and reflects the colour of the product in it. The packaging actually looks quite luxurious. The applicator comes with a doe footed tip that actually applies the product quite well.

Optimized-Review Bourjois Aqua Laque  (3)

Colour wise, I’ve got three shades for you guys today:

03 Brun’croyable : Described as a brown, not chestnut, with a hint of red, pink and caramel for an incredible result.

05 Red My Lips : An intense red which oozes Femme Fatale at the stroke of a brush.

08 Babe Idole : A light pink that will turn you into the queen of pop!

Ingredients:  Aqua (Water), Octyldodecanol, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Polybutene, Synthetic Wax, Sucrose Acetate Isobutyrate, Glycerin, Alcohol Denat., Acrylates Copolymer, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Dibutyl Lauroyl Glutamide, Glyceryl Caprylate, Pentylene Glycol, Ethylene/Propylene/Styrene Copolymer, Butylene/Ethylene/Styrene Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Polyglyceryl-6 Polyricinoleate, Zea May (Corn) Starch, Parfum (Fragrance), Tocopherol, Limonene, Caprylyl Glycol, Bht, Citric Acid, Nymphaea Alba Flower Extract, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate. [+/- (May Contain) : Mica, Ci 12085 (Red 36), Ci 15850 (Red 6), Ci 15850 (Red 7 Lake), Ci 15985 (Yellow 6 Lake), Ci 17200 (Red 33 Lake), Ci 19140 (Yellow 5 Lake), Ci 42090 (Blue 1 Lake), Ci 45410 (Red 28 Lake), Ci 45380 (Red 22 Lake), Ci 73360 (Red 30 Lake), Ci 75470 (Carmine), Ci 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499 (Iron Oxides), Ci 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), Ci 77742 (Manganese Violet), Ci 17200 (Red 33), Ci 75130 (Beta-Carotene)].

Optimized-Review Bourjois Aqua Laque  (7)

Here’s the swatches of the 3 Aqua Laques.

From left: 03 Brun’croyable, 05 Red My Lips & 08 Babe Idole. As you can see, they are rather sheer when applied, and look rather glossy, like liquid lipsticks. The liquid texture is oh so smooth.

Optimized-Review Bourjois Aqua Laque  (5)

I know you guys would like to see all the 8 colour shades in action, so here they are.
Pic sourced via lodoesmakeup.

bourjois-lips19

Here are how they look on me! From left is 03, 08 and 05. I think my favourite shade is 05 simply because it’s the most pigmented of the lot.

Optimized-[Review] Bourjois Rouge Edition Aqua Laque Lipsticks

What I think: The moment I apply the lipstick, it feels like a cool burst of water on the lips. It feels like applying water onto my lips, just that this water is coloured, and is the tiniest bit sticky. It’s really light, so you feel like you’re wearing nothing on your lips. Although it promises to stay put on your lips, unfortunately that doesn’t ring true. Its lasts all of 2 hours on me before fading away, leaving a light stain, which is a bummer. If you do not mind the constant reapplication, good for you. And since its texture is just like water, it doesn’t sink into the little cracks in your lips.

Pigmentation wise, the shade 03 & 08 are rather sheer, but 05 is quite pigmented. I usually apply 2 layers of the lipstick for optimum colour. It doesn’t dry up, but it doesn’t sit on the lips either. It kinda melts onto your lips and bonds to form a nice protective layer, which makes sense since I find that the lipsticks plump the lips so very slightly.

Application is a breeze, I basically just slap on some product using the applicator, though sometimes it can apply quite streaky. I usually go over with my finger to smoothen things out. Although it has a light feel, leaves a nice stain behind, I don’t particularly fancy the texture of the Aqua Laques. Call me traditional, but I like my lipsticks to be lipsticks, and liquid lipsticks to be what they are. The hybrid concept of things kind of befuddle me a little. 

Optimized-Review Bourjois Aqua Laque  (2)

I guess to sum things up, I like the colours in the range, but the texture of the lippies themselves are a turn off for me. A matter of personal preference no doubt, but I’m not the biggest fan of them. Also I don’t fancy the fact that I would need to reapply them every couple of hours. Yes they are a new an amazing product, but the traditionalist in me doesn’t fancy them so much. 

Have you tried this product? Are you planning to give a lipstick lipgloss hybrid a try, or are you just a stick in the mud just like I am?

The Bourjois Rouge Edition Aqua Laque retails for RM45.50 (currently at an introductory price of RM42.80) With any purchase of  RM60 products at Watsons, and an Rm80 purchase at the Sunway Pyramid outlet, you get a free mystery gift 🙂

bourjois logo

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/bourjoismy
Instagram Page: http://instagram.com/BourjoisMY

Bourjois products are currently available in Malaysia at selected Watsons stores in Klang Valley with a standalone kiosk located at Sunway Pyramid (Look out for it at the LG Floor)

xoxo,
Shashay

6 thoughts on “[Review] Bourjois Rouge Edition Aqua Laque Lipsticks

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

