[Review] Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in San Paulo, Monte Carlo & Copenhagen

Be warned. This post is going to be a complete ode to the Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams. 😀

So you guys remember the last time I reviewed the Nyx SMLC in Amsterdam? Long story short, I loved it so much that I needed more shades. The problem in hand? My local Sephora outlets never seemed to have them in stock. (Yes, all of the outlets. That’s how much I’ve searched for these babies all over Kuala Lumpur. 😦 )

I finally decided to purchase them online instead of wasting my time searching the Sephora outlets, via an instagram shop called Doodle Toodle. Their service was awesome, my products reached me in approximately 20 days, and I’m even going to put in a new order for some Colour Pop Cosmetics in the next few days.

I picked up the 3 shades that I wanted the most, which was 08 San Paulo, 10 Monte Carlo & 20 Copenhagen.

Optimized-Review Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream San Paolo Monte Carlo Copenhagen (2)

Product Description: Neither lipstick nor lip gloss, this matte lip cream is a new kind of lip color that goes on silky smooth and sets to a matte finish. Soft Matte Lip Cream is surprisingly durable and, unlike some matte lipstick formulas, also moisturizing. It is a highly pigmented, matte lip cream that allows you to creates various matte lip looks & we love it for being delightfully creamy and lightweight!

Ingredients: Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Dimethicone,Beeswax, Glyceryl Behenate / Eicosadioate, Phenoxyethanol, Dimethicone /Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Talc, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Silica, Aluminium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Isohexadecane,Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Parfum. May Contain:CI77019 (Mica) / CI77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI15850 (D&C Red 6 Na.Salt), CI15850 (D&C Red 7 Ca Lake), CI15985:1 (FD&C Yellow 6 AlLake), CI19140:1 (FD&C Yellow 5 Al Lake), CI45410 (D&C Red 28 AlLake), CI77491 (Iron Oxide Red), CI77492 (Iron Oxide Yellow), CI77499(Iron Oxide Black), CI77742 (Manganese Violet), CI77891 (TitaniumDioxide).

Optimized-Review Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream San Paolo Monte Carlo Copenhagen (3)

Swatches of the SMLC’s.

Monte Carlo & Copenhagen goes on slightly thick and clumpy compared to San Paulo, but from what I’ve learnt from the Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Mattes, application on the lips vs how it goes on your hands are two different things, so its always best to try them on your lips to see if it goes on smoothly.

Like Amsterdam that I’ve reviewed previously, they smell just like cupcakes, dry to a matte finish and don’t leave your lips feeling dehydrated or patchy. They stay on your lips for approximately for 4-5 hours, which is decent for a lip cream hybrid.

Copenhagen:  A deep rich plum.

Monte Carlo: A deep cranberry red.

San Paulo: Described as a plummy pink, but to me it looks like a pastel pink.

Optimized-Review Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream San Paolo Monte Carlo Copenhagen (4)

Here is how they look on me.

I must say, Monte Carlo is my bae. I need a backup since I’m halfway through my tube already. I’ve been wearing it almost every other day, that I’m thinking of making it my signature look, lol! The red is perfect red shade, ever.

San Paulo is such a pretty colour for work, or even a weekend out with my girls. Such a vibrant and sweet pink! ❤

Now Copenhagen is da bomb.com Seriously though, just look at how deep and purplish it is. This would be my go to colour for a night out in a club, or just whenever I feel like I’d want to rock a vampy look.

Which is your favourite shade? 🙂 Let me know!

Optimized-Review Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream San Paolo Monte Carlo Copenhagen (1)

The Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams retail at RM26 at all local Sephora outlets, but I bought them via the insta-shop for RM27 each, if I’m not mistaken. I’m not going to complain because I searched hi and low for these babies, and the price difference is not that big anyway.

In a nutshell, I love my Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams, and I may need to get more shades of them in the future, so watch out for more reviews coming your way. For now, thank you for dropping by and reading.

xoxo, Shashay

What are your thoughts? Drop a comment!

